Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Cancer Health Center

Font Size

Childhood Soft Tissue Sarcoma - Stage Explanation

Stages of childhood soft tissue sarcoma

Once childhood soft tissue sarcoma is found, more tests will be done to find out if the cancer cells have spread to other parts of the body. This is called staging. The doctor needs to know the stage of the cancer to plan treatment.

There are several staging systems for childhood soft tissue sarcoma, but no single staging system applies to all types of this cancer. The treatment options in this summary are based on whether the cancer has spread or the amount of tumor left after surgery. The 3 general stages of soft tissue sarcoma are nonmetastatic, metastatic, and recurrent.

Nonmetastatic childhood soft tissue sarcoma

The cancer has been partly or completely removed in surgery and has not spread to other parts of the body.

Metastatic childhood soft tissue sarcoma

The cancer has spread from where it started to other parts of the body.

Recurrent soft tissue sarcoma

The cancer has come back (recurred) after it has been treated. It may come back in the area where it started or in another part of the body.


WebMD Public Information from the National Cancer Institute

Last Updated: October 18, 2006
This information is not intended to replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any liability for the decisions you make based on this information.
Next Article:

Today on WebMD

Building a Support System
cancer fighting foods
precancerous lesions slideshow
quit smoking tips
Jennifer Goodman Linn self-portrait
what is your cancer risk
colorectal cancer treatment advances
breast cancer overview slideshow
prostate cancer overview
lung cancer overview slideshow
ovarian cancer overview slideshow
Actor Michael Douglas