Find Information About:

Drugs & Supplements

Get information and reviews on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, vitamins, and supplements. Search by name or medical condition.

Pill Identifier

Pill Identifier

Having trouble identifying your pills?

Enter the shape, color, or imprint of your prescription or OTC drug. Our pill identification tool will display pictures that you can compare to your pill.

Get Started

My Medicine

Save your medicine, check interactions, sign up for FDA alerts, create family profiles and more.

Get Started

WebMD Health Experts and Community

Talk to health experts and other people like you in WebMD's Communities. It's a safe forum where you can create or participate in support groups and discussions about health topics that interest you.

  • Second Opinion

    Second Opinion

    Read expert perspectives on popular health topics.

  • Community


    Connect with people like you, and get expert guidance on living a healthy life.

Got a health question? Get answers provided by leading organizations, doctors, and experts.

Get Answers

Sign up to receive WebMD's award-winning content delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

How to recognize gluten that's not obvious on the label.

Going gluten-free? You'll need a little know-how to figure out which foods you need to avoid.

You probably know that gluten -- a protein -- is in anything made from wheat, rye, or barley. But did you know it's also in some less obvious products, such as lunch meats and soy sauce?

Here's what to look for.

Gluten Ingredients

First, check the ingredient label for wheat, barley, and rye.

Next, look for some of the other things you might see on an ingredients label that signal gluten.

"Reading the ingredients label on the foods you buy and knowing what to look for are the keys to identifying and avoiding gluten," says Shelley Case, RD, author of Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide.

Case's book lists these items:

  • Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
  • Breading, bread stuffing
  • Brewer's yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Durum (type of wheat)
  • Farro/faro (also known as spelt or dinkel)
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut (type of wheat)
  • Malt, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzo, matzo meal
  • Modified wheat starch
  • Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour, whole oats (unless they are from pure, uncontaminated oats)
  • Rye bread and flour
  • Seitan (a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes)
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (type of wheat also known as farro, faro, or dinkel)
  • Triticale
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat flour
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat starch

These other ingredients may be less familiar to you, but they also contain gluten:

  • Atta (chapati flour)
  • Einkorn (type of wheat)
  • Emmer (type of wheat)
  • Farina
  • Fu (a dried gluten product made from wheat and used in some Asian dishes)

Gluten Foods

Double-check the ingredients label on these items, as they're possible sources of gluten:

  • Beer, ale, lager
  • Breads
  • Broth, soup, soup bases
  • Cereals
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Some chocolates, some chocolate bars, licorice
  • Flavored coffees and teas
  • Imitation bacon bits, imitation seafoods
  • Medications (check with your pharmacist)
  • Pastas
  • Processed foods
  • Salad dressings
  • Sausages, hot dogs, deli meats
  • Sauces, marinades, gravies
  • Seasonings
  • Soy sauce

Gluten-free foods have become much more common, so you can probably find a version that does work for you. Even communion wafers now come in gluten-free versions.

Healthy Recipe Finder

Browse our collection of healthy, delicious recipes, from WebMD and Eating Well magazine.

Top searches: Chicken, Chocolate, Salad, Desserts, Soup

Heart Rate Calculator

Ensure you're exercising hard enough to get a good workout, but not strain your heart.

While you are exercising, you should count between...