Find Information About:

Drugs & Supplements

Get information and reviews on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, vitamins, and supplements. Search by name or medical condition.

Pill Identifier
WebMD

Pill Identifier

Having trouble identifying your pills?

Enter the shape, color, or imprint of your prescription or OTC drug. Our pill identification tool will display pictures that you can compare to your pill.

Get Started
My Medicine
WebMD

My Medicine

Save your medicine, check interactions, sign up for FDA alerts, create family profiles and more.

Get Started

WebMD Health Experts and Community

Talk to health experts and other people like you in WebMD's Communities. It's a safe forum where you can create or participate in support groups and discussions about health topics that interest you.

  • Second Opinion
    WebMD

    Second Opinion

    Read expert perspectives on popular health topics.

  • Community
    WebMD

    Community

    Connect with people like you, and get expert guidance on living a healthy life.

Got a health question? Get answers provided by leading organizations, doctors, and experts.

Get Answers

Sign up to receive WebMD's award-winning content delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

Celiac Disease Health Center

Font Size
A
A
A

Gluten-Free Diet for Celiac Disease - Topic Overview

People who have celiac disease must be on a gluten-free diet. Even a small amount of gluten may cause symptoms of bloating, gas, and diarrhea.

The basics of a gluten-free diet include:

Recommended Related to Celiac Disease

Jennifer's Way: Helping Those with Celiac Disease

When Jennifer Esposito was diagnosed with celiac disease three years ago, the actress was shocked and relieved. "It was hard, but it was also the day I realized the person I once knew as 'me' was gone," says Esposito, 39, who plays detective Jackie Curatola on the CBS hit police drama Blue Bloods. Misleading advice and a delayed diagnosis cost Esposito precious "life" time as she searched for the reasons behind a litany of unexplained ailments, she says. Now she's determined to save others from...

Read the Jennifer's Way: Helping Those with Celiac Disease article > >

  • Avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, triticale, and barley gluten. Bread, bagels, pasta, pizza, malted breakfast cereals, and crackers are all examples of foods that contain gluten. Although some foods are labeled wheat-free, this doesn't mean that they are gluten-free.
  • Avoiding oats, at least initially. Oats may cause symptoms in some people, perhaps as a result of contamination with wheat, barley, or rye during processing. But many people who have celiac disease can eat moderate amounts of oats without having symptoms. Health professionals vary in their long-term recommendations regarding eating foods with oats. But most agree it is best that people newly diagnosed with celiac disease not eat oats until the condition is well controlled with a gluten-free diet. Then, up to 2 oz (50 g) of oats may be eaten daily as long as no new symptoms arise.1 You should eat only oats known not to be contaminated by wheat, barley, or rye during processing.
  • Avoiding all beer products unless they are gluten-free. Beers with and without alcohol, including lagers, ales, and stouts, contain gluten unless the label specifically says they are gluten-free.
  • Reading ingredient labels carefully and being aware of types of hidden gluten. Gluten can be in things like medicines, vitamins and other nutritional supplements, lipstick and lip balm, and various food additives. Products whose labels have the phrase "modified food starch" or "hydrolyzed vegetable protein" may contain gluten.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) says that if a food sold in the U.S. is labeled free of gluten, then it must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

On a gluten-free diet, you can still have:

  • Eggs and dairy products. Some milk products may make your symptoms worse. If you have questions about milk products, ask your doctor. Read ingredient labels carefully. Some processed cheeses contain gluten.
  • Flours and foods made with amaranth, arrowroot, beans, buckwheat, corn, cornmeal, flax, millet, pure uncontaminated nut and oat bran, potatoes, quinoa, rice, sorghum, soybeans, tapioca, or teff.
  • Fresh, frozen, and canned meats. Read labels for additives that may contain gluten.
  • Fresh, frozen, dried, or canned fruits and vegetables if they do not contain thickening agents or other additives containing gluten.
  • Certain alcoholic beverages, including wine, liquor (including whiskey and brandy), liqueurs, and ciders.

WebMD Medical Reference from Healthwise

Last Updated: November 14, 2014
This information is not intended to replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any liability for the decisions you make based on this information.
1
Next Article:

Gluten-Free Diet for Celiac Disease Topics

Today on WebMD

thumbnail for Gluten-free Diet slideshow
Slideshow
Celiac Disease Symptoms
Article
 
Gluten Intolerance Against Grain
Article
clams
Quiz
 
Various vegetables in sautee pan
Video
Expert Q And A Eating With Food Allergies
Article
 
Celiac Hope
Tool
Fresh produce in fridge drawer
Video