Gluten is a protein found in some grains, notably wheat, barley, and rye. The symptoms of celiac disease (such as diarrhea, weight loss, and abdominal bloating) may or may not occur after you eat foods that contain gluten. But if you have celiac disease, eating gluten triggers an immune response that is not normal and can lead to damage of your small intestine. This damage can occur even when you don't notice symptoms.
Some foods and food products may contain gluten even when it is not specifically listed as an ingredient. The following foods and food products may have hidden gluten:
- Ice cream and other frozen dairy products
- Cheese spreads
- Yogurt with fruit
- Breading and coating mixes, gravy and other sauce mixes, ketchup, marinades, mustard, nondairy creamer, panko, peanut butter, salad dressings, soy sauce, and tomato sauce
- Drink mixes and herbal teas
- Hydrolyzed vegetable protein, which is a filler product used in many prepared or processed foods
- Communion wafers used in religious services
- Children's modeling dough (such as Play-Doh)
- Some vitamins and herbal, mineral, and nutritional supplements
- Some prescription and nonprescription medicines
- Some kinds of lipstick and lip balm
If you have celiac disease, be sure to learn about sources of hidden gluten. You may not always have symptoms, so you can't judge whether a food is safe by how you feel after eating it.