Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Depo-Provera intramuscular.

    Overall User Ratings

    175 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    «Previous 16-20 of 143 Next»
    Condition: Other
    12/18/2013 9:34:05 AM

    Reviewer: Gloryyyyy, 13-18 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Caregiver)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 1

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    Wtf! Everything was okay...I got on depo in November the 6 2013 so I didn't get my period that month & on December 6 2013 I stared bleeding a little (my periods are only 5 days long) so because of this shot I've been on my period almost 13 days since December the 6 to December the 18th. ITS NOT STOPING AT ALL WHAT IS THE POINT OF GETTING THE SHOT TO PEVENT PREGNANCY RIGHT? IF YOU CAN ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Other
    12/5/2013 5:25:06 PM

    Reviewer: Batmom, 19-24 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    This is a terrible drug. I've had varied results with birth control, but I take other medication and kept forgetting to take the pill. At my last hospital visit they offered it to me and I caved. BAD. IDEA. I have type one Diabetes and it has been Hell on my blood sugars. I'm less than two months in and I am fatigued, My migraines (Which I take medication for) are coming back full time. I ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Other
    12/2/2013 1:44:49 AM

    Reviewer: 19-24 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 3

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I was so excited when I learned about the miracle shot that you only had to get once every three months and usually got rid of your period. After one dose I had to get off. My mental state went out the window, I bled for three months straight, and I felt extremely weak. Please think long and hard before getting this shot because it can change who you are.

    Condition: Other
    11/21/2013 9:01:46 PM

    Reviewer: MJ, 19-24 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Caregiver)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 2

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I just started this shot right before I got to college and had no issues until I pretty much had a 3 month period. I also gained 40 lb since I got to college, and it's only November. I have never had issues with acne, but now my entire face is red. I also get the rashes on occasion. What scares me the most though is that it has actually caused me heart issues. I used to swim a mile a day no pr ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Other
    9/22/2013 1:24:35 AM

    Reviewer: suzie, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 1

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I began using this drug only 5 months ago for abnormal uterine bleeding. After the first shot I was happy because the bleeding stopped. After the second shot I began to have severe hot flashes. I also found out it causes bone loss and I already have a bone loss issue from having hip resurfing. I wouldn't use this medication if you are in your 40's or 50's

    «Previous 16-20 of 143 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    acupuncture needle on shoulder
    10 tips to look and feel good.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    woman biting a big ice cube
    Habits that wreck your teeth.
    pacemaker next to xray
    Treatment options.
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.