Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of glimepiride Oral.

Overall User Ratings

155 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 152 Next»
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
10/9/2014 9:41:59 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I am 59 years old and started taking Glimepiride 2 mg twice a day about 3 or 4 years ago. I started noticing petit mal seizures shortly afterwards, but contributed them to other medical conditions. I started having gran mal seizures in November 2013, with the most recent seizure on 10/2/2014, where I was unconscious for 25 minutes. I need to find out if others are experiencing seizures also. I' ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
10/9/2014 11:58:58 AM

Reviewer: momoftwins, 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have been taking Glimepiride 4mg for less than a month. I split the pill in half and only take 2mg a day. It made me very light headed at first and dropped my blood sugar numbers by 100 points the first day I took it. I do notice frequent urination and slight constipation since starting the medication. I also am taking 1,000mg of MetFormin a day to control my Type 2.

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
9/19/2014 12:48:45 PM

Reviewer: jd, 65-74 on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have noticed a slight sore throat on occasion and I see sore throat is one of the side effects. Has anyone else noticed this as effect of glimepiride?

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
8/26/2014 7:50:04 AM

Reviewer: 45-54 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
When initially diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes I started with metformin and insulin. After six months the doctor replaced the insulin with 2 mg of glimepiride per day. My glucose levels have continued to drop. My A1C when I was diagnosed was 12.4 and it is currently 6.3. My main concern is that gimepiride can cause hypoglycemia if you are not careful with what you eat (or what you don't ea ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
5/30/2014 5:41:50 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:

1-5 of 152 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
pregnancy test and calendar
Helping you get pregnant.
man rubbing painful knee
A visual guide.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
woman standing behind curtains
How it affects you.
brain scan with soda
Tips to avoid complications.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
human lungs
Symptoms, causes, treatments.
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
two male hands
Test your knowledge.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.