Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of glimepiride Oral.

Overall User Ratings

157 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 154 Next»
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
7/10/2015 6:57:57 PM

Reviewer: Linda, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
went from 1mg, then 2mg and did not help blood sugar. Two days ago was switched to 4mg and my blood sugar has sored. 289 yesterday and 233 today, after meals check. Had to quit taking metformin due to kidneys. Why would the stronger dose make my blood sugar go way up? Had lettuce salad with chicken strips the first day and veggies with smoked beef sausage the second day.

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
3/31/2015 11:54:42 AM

Reviewer: yettimama, 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
just started this med after metformin gave me unbearable cramps and loose stools!! Hoping it works, scared of side effects...

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
10/9/2014 9:41:59 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I am 59 years old and started taking Glimepiride 2 mg twice a day about 3 or 4 years ago. I started noticing petit mal seizures shortly afterwards, but contributed them to other medical conditions. I started having gran mal seizures in November 2013, with the most recent seizure on 10/2/2014, where I was unconscious for 25 minutes. I need to find out if others are experiencing seizures also. I' ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
10/9/2014 11:58:58 AM

Reviewer: momoftwins, 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have been taking Glimepiride 4mg for less than a month. I split the pill in half and only take 2mg a day. It made me very light headed at first and dropped my blood sugar numbers by 100 points the first day I took it. I do notice frequent urination and slight constipation since starting the medication. I also am taking 1,000mg of MetFormin a day to control my Type 2.

Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
9/19/2014 12:48:45 PM

Reviewer: jd, 65-74 on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have noticed a slight sore throat on occasion and I see sore throat is one of the side effects. Has anyone else noticed this as effect of glimepiride?

1-5 of 154 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

disciplining a boy
Types, symptoms, causes.
psoriasis
What it looks like.
fruit drinks
Eat these to think better.
No gym workout
Moves to help control blood sugar.
acupuncture needle on shoulder
10 tips to look and feel good.
Close up of eye
12 reasons you're distracted.
Epinephrine Injection using Auto-Injector Syringe
Life-threatening triggers.
woman biting a big ice cube
Habits that wreck your teeth.
embarrassed woman
Do you feel guilty after eating?
pacemaker next to xray
Treatment options.
caregiver with parent
10 tips for daily life.
birth control pills
Which kind is right for you?

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.