Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of ZOSTAVAX (PF) SubQ.

Overall User Ratings

66 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 6-10 of 62 Next»
Condition: Prevention of Shingles
7/7/2014 5:13:10 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Nurse warned that a small blister may appear. I had a three-inch welt and a rash from elbow to shoulder, headache, fever, joint pain. The rash and pain lasted almost a week.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
6/27/2014 6:00:46 PM

Reviewer: Anonymous, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I had Zostavax injection on 6/23/14. Developed oval rash 3" by 1.5" at sight of injection on 6/25/14. On 6/26/14 I awoke and found 5 red blisters on back. Went to doctor on 6/26/14 and she confirmed I had developed a mild case of chicken pox from the vaccine even though I had chicken pox as a child.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
4/27/2014 9:12:20 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
got shingles within 6 months of receiving this vaccine. also, my husband and 87 year old mother also got shingles within 6 months to 2 years of receiving this vaccine. vaccine did not work for our family.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
4/3/2014 6:42:31 PM

Reviewer: Bernie, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
It's human nature that people mostly report dissatisfaction, so the reviews here reflect that bias. I had the vaccine 2 days ago- of course there's some redness and tenderness in the region, but the reaction is nowhere near as bad as a tetnus booster, nor dangerous like the old smallpox vaccines. My brother had shingles 2x, so I figured that I should get vaccinated at 61. It's not a ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
12/20/2013 5:51:29 AM

Reviewer: Hospitalsmakemenervous, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Caregiver)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I just received my Zostavax SQ vaccine injection on 12/18/2013: I was very careful to research it and check as to when it was ok to take this live vaccine Zostavax after receiving a flu shot about 1 month before going on to the zostavax injection...intially the doctor who ordered it for me said it was "ok" to go ahead with the Zostavax Injection immediately, but because last year I was ... Show Full Comment

«Previous 6-10 of 62 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
pregnancy test and calendar
Helping you get pregnant.
build a better butt
How to build a better butt.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
woman standing behind curtains
How it affects you.
brain scan with soda
Tips to avoid complications.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
psoriasis
How to keep flares at bay.
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
spinal compression fracture
Treatment options.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.