Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of ZOSTAVAX (PF) subQ.

Overall User Ratings

62 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 58 Next»
Condition: Prevention of Shingles
7/9/2014 11:57:06 PM

Reviewer: Retired RPh, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:
Had the shingles vaccine on 7/1/2014, no pain, no injection site reaction. But on 7/7, I woke up with a big fever blister on my lip! Related to vaccine??? I hope not! Haven't had a fever blister for over a year though. Not sure about receiving Zostrix, but too late now!!

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
7/7/2014 5:13:10 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Nurse warned that a small blister may appear. I had a three-inch welt and a rash from elbow to shoulder, headache, fever, joint pain. The rash and pain lasted almost a week.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
6/27/2014 6:00:46 PM

Reviewer: Anonymous, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I had Zostavax injection on 6/23/14. Developed oval rash 3" by 1.5" at sight of injection on 6/25/14. On 6/26/14 I awoke and found 5 red blisters on back. Went to doctor on 6/26/14 and she confirmed I had developed a mild case of chicken pox from the vaccine even though I had chicken pox as a child.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
4/27/2014 9:12:20 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
got shingles within 6 months of receiving this vaccine. also, my husband and 87 year old mother also got shingles within 6 months to 2 years of receiving this vaccine. vaccine did not work for our family.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
4/3/2014 6:42:31 PM

Reviewer: Bernie, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
It's human nature that people mostly report dissatisfaction, so the reviews here reflect that bias. I had the vaccine 2 days ago- of course there's some redness and tenderness in the region, but the reaction is nowhere near as bad as a tetnus booster, nor dangerous like the old smallpox vaccines. My brother had shingles 2x, so I figured that I should get vaccinated at 61. It's not a ... Show Full Comment

1-5 of 58 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

hands on abdomen
Can you catch one?
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
womans hand on abdomen
Are you ready for baby?
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
mosquito
Stings, bites, burns, and more.
Allentown, PA
Are you living in one?
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.