Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of zostavax subq.

Overall User Ratings

63 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 51-55 of 59 Next»
Condition: Prevention of Shingles
1/16/2009 1:19:21 PM

Reviewer: blacklick, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
no problems at all with treatment.

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
12/18/2008 3:09:58 PM

Reviewer: hotprocess, 75 or over Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I rcvd. Zostavax 11/12/08. The site was very soure within a couple of hours. Within a few days I had fever-like blisters on my lips. The skin on the roof of my mouth blistered and pealed. My tounge ws very tended. I had and acid-like taste in my mouth and my esophagas seemed to be tender and produced phlegm. The sourness in my arm continueed for 2-3 weeks. I became short of breath and went to ER e ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
10/24/2008 4:25:57 PM

Reviewer: JuJu, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I've had shingles 4 times since 1988- two severe cases and two mild cases. Since taking the vaccine 2 yrs ago- no shingles!

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
4/27/2008 7:49:35 PM

Reviewer: Miss Vicki, 65-74 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I had the vaccine 4/23/08. By the evening of 4/24/08 I had a rash on my back and stomach. Also, in places like under the band of my bra, I have extreme redness that feels like a sunburn. This redness is also between the cheeks of my buttocks. I contacted my doctor and she just has me taking Benadryl pills and using Benadryl cream for the itching. My husband took the vaccine the same day and ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Prevention of Shingles
4/23/2008 9:12:18 AM

Reviewer: ricboy47@yahoo.com, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I was given Zostavax 24 hrs. ago and all is well so far.No rash,no swelling like some have reported. Rich N. Mass.

«Previous 51-55 of 59 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
Heart-Shaped Fried Egg
Can you benefit from them?
oatmeal and eggs
How to make the best choices for you.
dog begging at table
Foods your dog should never eat.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
Adult man lying awake in bed
How to recognize them.
chlamydia
Pictures and facts.
smiling woman
Fight the effects of getting older.
chicken and veggie kabobs
What are you eating tonight?
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
young woman in sun
What to watch for.
woman clutching at stomach
Do you know what's causing yours?

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.