Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Reclast IV.

Overall User Ratings

490 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 321 Next»
Condition: Osteoporosis
12/23/2014 10:46:34 AM

Reviewer: phyliss, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
I had my first dose 4 days ago; since then I have had swelling and pain in my lower left jaw. I was disappointed in my physician for saying it was unrelated to the infusion since I was perfectly healthy the day they gave it to me as well as having 3 nurses and a PA check me over before the infusion. I am hesitant to do a second infusion in a year.

Condition: Osteoporosis
11/15/2014 9:36:02 PM

Reviewer: emzmom83, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Childhood asthma required steroid treatment over the course of my lifetime. Steroid treatment caused suppressed immune system. Suppressed immunity caused invasive aspergillosis in my lungs which left me with ABPA & COPD. (I have never smoked.) ABPA requires frequent treatment with steroids and antifungals. Steroids are leaching my bones to the point of severe osteoporosis. Thank you, Doctor ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Osteoporosis
10/24/2014 7:44:16 AM

Reviewer: Lizzy, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I was diagnosed with Osteopenia 13 years ago. I have taken two doses and am about to take a third. My bone scans (3 now in all) show significant improvement and have moved me from Osteopenia to NORMAL. The first treatment was horrible but becuase I did not hydrate myself. The second was a breeze.. no side effects at all and I was well hydrated

Condition: Osteoporosis
10/1/2014 10:45:54 PM

Reviewer: 65-74 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I read so many negative reviews of this medication before my first infusion three years ago.So glad I discounted them since I just received the fourth infusion a couple weeks ago and have never experienced any side effects. It's convenient (once a year for about 20 minutes) and effective (subsequent bone scan show improvement).

Condition: Osteoporosis
8/12/2014 2:43:27 PM

Reviewer: Marge, 75 or over Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I am an RN, age 79. I had two doses of IV Reclast seven years ago with no bad effects.....until 2 years ago when I began to have severe pain in my shin bones. I've been to 2 medical doctors and 2 orthopedic specialists. Have had x-rays and bone scan but they show nothing but normal old bones. The docs all agree this is NOT "shin splints" but they have no idea what could cause this pa ... Show Full Comment

1-5 of 321 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
pregnancy test and calendar
Helping you get pregnant.
man rubbing painful knee
A visual guide.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
woman standing behind curtains
How it affects you.
brain scan with soda
Tips to avoid complications.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
human lungs
Symptoms, causes, treatments.
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
two male hands
Test your knowledge.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.