Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Synvisc-One intra-articular.

    Overall User Ratings

    212 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    1-5 of 198 Next»
    Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
    7/10/2016 8:12:55 PM

    Reviewer: Dogwoman, 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 3

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    I had the shot 5 years ago on left knee and it took 6 weeks for me to recover completely from injection. I had horrible swelling from this first shot and did not want to have another. After 6 weeks the shot worked for 5 years. When it started to hurt again and I had pain in both knees my surgeon did not want to do arthroscopy. Synvisc was my only option. I agreed to have single shot to both k ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
    6/25/2016 10:01:25 AM

    Reviewer: 65-74 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I HAVE MODERATE TO SEVERE OSTEOARTHRITIS IN BOTH KNEES AND AM 74. GOT SOME IMMEDIATE RELIEF AFTER THE INJECTIONS BUT AFTER 3 DAYS I COULD REALLY TELL THE DIFFERENCE. IT IS WORKING GREAT AND I AM VIRTUALLY PAIN FREE FOR THE FIRST TIME IN YEARS.

    Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
    5/20/2016 1:13:18 PM

    Reviewer: Toddlangton, 55-64 on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 1

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I got the bill today for a shot of Synvisc. 48 units (whatever constitutes a unit) at $21 per unit. $1008 for a shot that did absolutely nothing. Nadda, nothing. I hurt my knee 40 years ago when I was 15 years old, had one surgery (which stopped my knee from popping out of place) and now my knee is bone on bone, which they said was osteoarthritis. About 6 years ago I fell down a flight of sta ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
    5/14/2016 3:32:26 PM

    Reviewer: Biggirl, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    Its only be a few days but the left knee is less painful than before. The right one appears to be worse. It was very painful the day of the injection and the next. I am not regretting doing the injections, but will probably reconsider the next time. Hopefully I will still get some more improvement. Be careful if you have venous stasis. It can be a real issue if you do.

    Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
    4/24/2016 12:18:13 AM

    Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 3

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    this worked wonders for me - now the insurance companies are not covering it. I do not know why this is being deprived from those who it works for

    1-5 of 198 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    sticky notes on face
    10 tips to clear your brain fog.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    Trainer demonstrating exercise for RA
    Exercises for your joints.
    apple slices with peanut butter
    What goes best with workouts?
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.