Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Xeljanz oral.

    Overall User Ratings

    73 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    «Previous 36-40 of 71 Next»
    Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
    4/8/2014 1:13:39 AM

    Reviewer: Naunny, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    I have been on MTX and Cimzia in the past, sometimes Prednisone. The side effects from MTX were horrible. The relief was so so. My rheumy put me on xeljanz about 8 weeks ago, so far the results are amazing, I feel better than I have felt in 2 years. The hot flashes are bad, but seem to be a side effect of all the drugs so far. My only concern is some skin sores that seem to be getting worse, I dre ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
    3/6/2014 4:57:14 PM

    Reviewer: rj, 65-74 Male on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    RA flared up Dec. 2013, and no good results with Simponi after 4 months. Been taking Xeljanz since Sept. 2013, and very satisfied with the results. No side affects.

    Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
    2/26/2014 11:40:22 AM

    Reviewer: Deb, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    I have not experienced any side effects to date

    Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
    2/24/2014 1:26:24 AM

    Reviewer: Sfsheehy, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 2

    Comment:
    I have sero-positive severe RA, which was dx 32 years ago. I've been on numerous medications and have failed all of them. I began taking Xeljanz four month ago and my RA symptoms improved within the first two weeks. I was finally able to titrate off of prednisone and hydrocodone and was very happy until I began experiencing side effects two months ago. Stomach issues I attribute to this drug ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
    1/27/2014 6:04:47 PM

    Reviewer: teresafromky, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    My joint swelling has dissipated but the fatigue is just as severe. Also, I've gained 20 lbs since beginning this drug therapy in August 2013. This is heartbreaking for me since I've worked very hard to lose 60 lbs in the last 3 years. Our insurance company made the decision to exclude Xeljanz from our plan. I guess that's my sign to stop taking it.

    «Previous 36-40 of 71 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    acupuncture needle on shoulder
    10 tips to look and feel good.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    woman biting a big ice cube
    Habits that wreck your teeth.
    pacemaker next to xray
    Treatment options.
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.