Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Xeljanz oral.

Overall User Ratings

48 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 11-15 of 47 Next»
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
4/8/2014 1:13:39 AM

Reviewer: Naunny, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have been on MTX and Cimzia in the past, sometimes Prednisone. The side effects from MTX were horrible. The relief was so so. My rheumy put me on xeljanz about 8 weeks ago, so far the results are amazing, I feel better than I have felt in 2 years. The hot flashes are bad, but seem to be a side effect of all the drugs so far. My only concern is some skin sores that seem to be getting worse, I dre ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
3/6/2014 4:57:14 PM

Reviewer: rj, 65-74 Male on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
RA flared up Dec. 2013, and no good results with Simponi after 4 months. Been taking Xeljanz since Sept. 2013, and very satisfied with the results. No side affects.

Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
2/26/2014 11:40:22 AM

Reviewer: Deb, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have not experienced any side effects to date

Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
2/24/2014 1:26:24 AM

Reviewer: Sfsheehy, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
I have sero-positive severe RA, which was dx 32 years ago. I've been on numerous medications and have failed all of them. I began taking Xeljanz four month ago and my RA symptoms improved within the first two weeks. I was finally able to titrate off of prednisone and hydrocodone and was very happy until I began experiencing side effects two months ago. Stomach issues I attribute to this drug ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
1/27/2014 6:04:47 PM

Reviewer: teresafromky, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:
My joint swelling has dissipated but the fatigue is just as severe. Also, I've gained 20 lbs since beginning this drug therapy in August 2013. This is heartbreaking for me since I've worked very hard to lose 60 lbs in the last 3 years. Our insurance company made the decision to exclude Xeljanz from our plan. I guess that's my sign to stop taking it.

«Previous 11-15 of 47 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
highlighted areas of the brain
How well do you know yours?
oatmeal and eggs
The best and worst for you.
dog begging at table
Foods your dog should never eat.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
mature woman with serious expression
What do you know?
chlamydia
Pictures and facts.
Healthy Snack
13 delicious options.
Take your medication
Separate fact from fiction.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
young woman in sun
What to watch for.
woman clutching at stomach
Do you know what's causing yours?

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.