Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Namenda XR Oral.

Overall User Ratings

15 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 10 Next»
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
9/19/2014 10:29:36 PM

Reviewer: Sadformama, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Caregiver)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I feel that ever since my mom was prescribed Namenda Xr, it just made her worse. She had swelling, and now she does not even speak. Very confused. I should have never given her this medication. Really wish I would have done my research before giving it to her. Now Namenda XR is on backorder, makes me wonder. Even though I don't plan to give it to her at all. If there is no cure for Alzhe ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
8/11/2014 9:14:01 AM

Reviewer: Caregiver daughter , 55-64 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Caregiver)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Read carefully the negative side effects. There is a very good chance my mom's serious illnesses since last March 2014 were the results of a change in her medication for the treatment of Alzheimers. She has been on the time release Namenda XR since March with serious side effects, including fecal incontinence, unsteady gait, dizziness, headaches, confusion, UTI's, Edema, lack of mobility,d ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
5/19/2014 5:16:48 PM

Reviewer: Us2, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Caregiver)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
we started the namenda almost 4 weeks ago/doctor started namenda xr time release as of today, so the ratings are based on the other namenda not namenda xr

Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
3/13/2014 1:10:28 PM

Reviewer: Moshe, 65-74 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:
I really do not notive any difference at this time from switching to the Nemenda XR from Nemenda. I changed from regular Nemenda to XR less than a Month ago. I should give it more time to give an opinion.

Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
3/12/2014 3:15:52 PM

Reviewer: Ruby, 65-74 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I've been on it for 3 weeks. I feel like doing some cleaning after taking it for 6 hours and then very sleepy. Some nightmares, not too bad. I don't know if it causes me to go into the sad stage.

1-5 of 10 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
feet
Solutions for 19 types.
Still Life Of Protein Foods
Do they work?
build a better butt
How to build a better butt.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
woman standing behind curtains
How it affects you.
brain scan with soda
Tips to kick the habit.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
stressed working woman
And how to fix them?
fat caliper
Check your BMI.
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
man with indigestion
How to keep yours at bay.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.