Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Mirena intrauterine.

Overall User Ratings

1655 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 6-10 of 1423 Next»
Condition: Birth Control
5/9/2015 12:52:29 PM

Reviewer: 25-34 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 2

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I've had Mirena for 1yr. I'll just say the pain of insertion was excruciating. I had severe cramps on and off for months, and i have a high pain tolerance. Since i lose globs of hair daily, gained 20lbs, moodiness, and extremely low energy levels. I even went to the doctor and had a lot of blood work done to prove it wasn't anything else causing these issues. Not happy with Mirena and ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Birth Control
4/21/2015 9:45:17 PM

Reviewer: chelback, 19-24 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I've had my IUD for two months and I love it. Insertion was painful but fast. I did have strong cramps for about 12 hours but was at 100% the next day. Since then I've had no side effects, no periods, no babies. Highly reccomend.

Condition: Birth Control
4/19/2015 10:48:09 PM

Reviewer: 25-34 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
Got this in September 2014 after giving birth to a stillborn that was the result of a missed pregnancy. Started getting migraines 3 months after having it placed & just thought it was a new health issue I would have to deal with. After reading possible side effects & seeing that migraines was 1 of them, I plan on getting it removed & getting a different IUD.

Condition: Birth Control
4/18/2015 4:45:33 PM

Reviewer: BeachBum, 19-24 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 2

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
I had a mirena IUD put in July 2014. It was amazing for the first 6 months, I absolutely loved it! That was until January, I found out I was pregnant. Unfortunately when they removed the IUD it was an instant abortion. I have now got a second IUD and hope that this one is more effective!!

Condition: Birth Control
3/31/2015 6:28:08 PM

Reviewer: StrawberryJ, 25-34 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I had Mirena placed in late October 2014. I decided on this form of birth control because I had heard many good things about this particular IUD. I had just given birth to my second child, 3 months before getting Mirena. I liked the idea of a worry free birth control and not having a period. My doctor reassured me that this form was reliable and easy to use. My experience with placement was e ... Show Full Comment

«Previous 6-10 of 1423 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

disciplining a boy
Types, symptoms, causes.
psoriasis
What it looks like.
No gym workout
Moves to help control blood sugar.
acupuncture needle on shoulder
10 tips to look and feel good.
Epinephrine Injection using Auto-Injector Syringe
Life-threatening triggers.
chest x-ray
7 early symptoms.
woman biting a big ice cube
Habits that wreck your teeth.
Breast Cancer Overview
Symptoms and treatments.
embarrassed woman
Do you feel guilty after eating?
pacemaker next to xray
Treatment options.
caregiver with parent
10 tips for daily life.
birth control pills
Which kind is right for you?

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.