Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Depo-Provera Contraceptive IM.

Overall User Ratings

381 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 291-295 of 333 Next»
Condition: Birth Control
3/10/2008 11:18:31 AM

Reviewer: KLisle, 19-24 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
DO NOT GET THE SHOT!!! I got it a week ago and not even 7 hrs later I began experiencing stiffness and pain in the joints of my hands and arms. About 1:30 in the morning I woke my husband up crying because I litterally could not move! The weight of the sheets on my upper body was causing extreme pain! I couldn't lift my head off the pillow or roll over on to my side. It took us close to 20 min ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Birth Control
3/4/2008 4:09:24 PM

Reviewer: 19-24 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:

Condition: Birth Control
2/28/2008 7:25:11 AM

Reviewer: liverma, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 10 years or more (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
what is the medical answer for this question. How frequent should you have a bone density test while on the depo. My only bone scan was done 8 years ago. I am now 45. I fired my gyno because I felt betrayed by not having an additional bone density scan. I have a liver disease. I stopped the depo. I'm looking for the legal answer to my question.

Condition: Birth Control
2/19/2008 10:11:25 PM

Reviewer: gradydog, 25-34 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I've been taking the Depo shot for over 8 years now and haven't had too many side effects. I get a bad headache 2 weeks after the shot and 2 weeks before I'm due. The last "period" I had was 4 years ago and it only lasted a day and it was very light. I love not having a monthly cycle and I get it at my local health department. I think that the staff there has been 150% honest ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Birth Control
2/16/2008 2:21:02 PM

Reviewer: 25-34 Female on Treatment for 10 years or more (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I have been on the shot for 12 years and have loved it. I have had no negative side effects. I recently discontinued the shot and am wondering if anyone else has had any problems/side effects when they have stopped taking it?

«Previous 291-295 of 333 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Health Solutions From Our Sponsors

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

tea
What you should eat.
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
colon xray
Get the facts.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
fruit drinks
Foods that can help you focus.
Sad dog and guacamole
Don't feed this to your dog.
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.