Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Prednisone Oral.

Overall User Ratings

2353 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 6-10 of 357 Next»
Condition: Asthma
1/9/2014 11:55:49 PM

Reviewer: Dewyrose, 65-74 Male on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I have had asthma for years and successfully treated it with brief prednisone treatments. My asthma became uncontrolled about 4 years ago. About 1 year ago I was diagnosed with ABPA and started treatment with an antifungal and prednisone. I am slowly phasing off the prednisone and have not had a significant flare up of asthma since beginning this combination treatment 11 months ago. (The ABPA wa ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Asthma
12/8/2013 9:18:50 PM

Reviewer: 65-74 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I've had a seizure disorder for over 60 years..no seizure for 41. Whether it is lack of sleep...from Prednisone..or interaction..I have noticed several absence type seizures...it is helping me breathe...so I am going to increase my prophylactic dose of anticonvulsants for the duration of the taper.....

Condition: Asthma
11/18/2013 4:01:39 AM

Reviewer: Pkilpat2, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Extreme weight loss (145 down to 124); not sleeping even with Ambien; extreme leg and foot cramps; no appetite (even after being off of Oral Prednisone for 6 months; extreme Mood Swings "steroid mania"; chronic fatigue; swelling of lymph nodes throughout my whole body and many other things that I do not have room to list here.

Condition: Asthma
11/16/2013 10:20:47 AM

Reviewer: rosie, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 2

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
my breathing worsened,weigh gain,sleepless nights,irratible,nervous.my doctor won't take me off of it.should i just stop on my own?

Condition: Asthma
11/1/2013 10:04:30 PM

Reviewer: adl, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
it brings quick results for me to breathe clearly. I get awful leg cramps and my eyes bother me a lot. I was not was not aware of this being a side effect of this drug. I have gotten very forgetful and have used potassium tablets to help me with the leg cramps.

«Previous 6-10 of 357 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Health Solutions From Our Sponsors

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

tea
What you should eat.
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
colon xray
Get the facts.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
fruit drinks
Foods that can help you focus.
Sad dog and guacamole
Don't feed this to your dog.
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.