Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Simvastatin Oral.

Overall User Ratings

959 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 506-510 of 544 Next»
Condition: High Cholesterol
3/31/2008 1:48:33 PM

Reviewer: 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Was working, but started having extreme abdominal pain, fatigue and muscles jerking. As soon as I stopped the medication, symptoms stopped.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/30/2008 1:24:43 PM

Reviewer: schnog, 35-44 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I am a 42 year old male, struggling with a family history of high cholesterol...and NOT wanting to take medication. started taking on Decmeber 1, 2007. On January 10th, 2008 my numbers dropped from near 300 to 160. I test again in June. Taking them at night is easier. Puting them in a pill organizor is easier. I am also looking at taking other vitamins and suplements at the same time. I am ... Show Full Comment

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/27/2008 5:23:22 PM

Reviewer: CaptKidd, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 2

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I am a 61 year old male. I started taking Simvastatin a week ago, per my Doctors orders. I have stopped taking it because of a side effect, extreme fatigue. A side effect NOT mentioned was, it increased my depression so bad that everyday, I was almost at the point of crying. I am already diagnosed with severe depression and I do not need anything that will increase it, so all BEWARE.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/26/2008 8:59:17 AM

Reviewer: Nixie, 45-54 Male on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Have been taking 40 MG for about a year. Stopped taking and Doc scolded me. I have trouble sleeping and very, very bad fatigue. Was told ethnicity has a lot to do with Cholesterol. I am basically Calabrese. Thinking about not taking for 2 months and getting blood checked again. Can't take this tired feeling all the time. I'll get back with the results.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/22/2008 2:14:48 PM

Reviewer: markgustafson6, 45-54 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
was put on med after 2nd test of high cholesterol, over 300. was told of the side effects and also came with information from VA pharmacy with all pertanent information. Was told to take at bedtime, 40 mg, and not to use grapefruit or grapefruit juice. some muscle soreness but nothing to really complain about. was told that if muscle aches became unbearable, stop meds for 2 wks and start again ... Show Full Comment

«Previous 506-510 of 544 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
Healthy breakfast
What are you eating?
Young man exercising on bike
How not to get sick at the gym.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
Woman scrutinizing nose in mirror
Tips that work.
close up of leg with psoriasis rash
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
young woman in sun
What to watch for.
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.