Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of simvastatin Oral.

Overall User Ratings

957 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 501-505 of 542 Next»
Condition: High Cholesterol
5/8/2008 11:57:14 PM

Reviewer: Heytubes@aol.com, 55-64 Male on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
Took 80mg for over 2 years...much pain in legs and muscles, had to walk down the stairs in the AM backwards one step at a time..during the day still painful but I did workout and play basketball for an hour or so 2 to 3 times a week, but in pain..not going to lay down...am now on Pravastatin 80mg, so will wait and see what happens in a couple of weeks...when I stopped taking the med, after about 3 ... Show Full Comment

Condition: High Cholesterol
4/25/2008 10:13:26 AM

Reviewer: 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
51 year old female. THANKS to all for your reviews. I just associated this drug with my extreme fatigue. I was taking 40 mg and Dr. upped it to 80 mg. Dr's appointment in about 10 days but I'm gonna go cold turkey till then. Have also had stomach problems recently and trouble sleeping, not sure if this drug is the problem.

Condition: High Cholesterol
4/9/2008 10:34:23 AM

Reviewer: 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I started taking simvastatin 13 days ago. Two days ago I began to have blurred vision, left arm bruises, leg and muscle cramps and extreme nausea. I was taking 20mg. Cholesterol level was 279. I went to the doctor for blood work to see if this drug affected my liver and kidneys. I wasn't taking any other meds or vitamins. Doctor told me to stop taking immediately.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/31/2008 1:48:33 PM

Reviewer: 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Was working, but started having extreme abdominal pain, fatigue and muscles jerking. As soon as I stopped the medication, symptoms stopped.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/30/2008 1:24:43 PM

Reviewer: schnog, 35-44 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I am a 42 year old male, struggling with a family history of high cholesterol...and NOT wanting to take medication. started taking on Decmeber 1, 2007. On January 10th, 2008 my numbers dropped from near 300 to 160. I test again in June. Taking them at night is easier. Puting them in a pill organizor is easier. I am also looking at taking other vitamins and suplements at the same time. I am ... Show Full Comment

«Previous 501-505 of 542 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

hands on abdomen
Can you catch one?
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
womans hand on abdomen
Are you ready for baby?
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
mosquito
Stings, bites, burns, and more.
Allentown, PA
Are you living in one?
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.