Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of dapsone oral.

    Overall User Ratings

    72 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    1-5 of 33 Next»
    Condition: Chronic Inflammatory Skin Disease Marked by Blisters
    1/13/2016 11:58:48 AM

    Reviewer: Jefferson, 55-64 on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I have had Dermetitis Herpetiformis for the past 30 years. I had it about 25 years ago all over my body (except face, neck and hands)I was covered everywhere else. I was like that for over a year and that is when I received my diagnois and starting taking Dapsone. Within a month I starting clearing up and he went away for 20 years. It has started to come back (not quite as bad as 20 years ago) ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Chronic Inflammatory Skin Disease Marked by Blisters
    10/10/2015 9:12:45 PM

    Reviewer: Paul, 45-54 Male on Treatment for 10 years or more (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    After months of doc visits and blisters and intense itching I was diagnosed with DH 24 years ago. I've been taking half a 100mg tablet of Dapsone for the last 24 yaears. love it. Cannot take NSAID's with it though. DH symptoms get 10 times worse if you take NSAID's. I suffer a drug induced Hyposensitivity with the two.

    Condition: Chronic Inflammatory Skin Disease Marked by Blisters
    8/27/2015 8:31:35 PM

    Reviewer: s.lettermanyahoo.com, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    dermatitis herpetiformis is what the Dermatoligist said I have caused by celiac. Of course I have had the biopsy, blood work, light down the throat so they could biopsy stomach all said celiac. Don't understand how one becomes allergiac to wheat after 50 yrs. Oh well I have taken Dapsone 100 mg for 5 yrs & I thought it was a wonder drug. I have celiac and am in the 20% that get the blister ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Chronic Inflammatory Skin Disease Marked by Blisters
    11/12/2014 12:04:30 PM

    Reviewer: dmacbolts, 19-24 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 2

    Comment:
    Received Dapsone 100 mg/daily for DH. Worked great, was getting weekly labs taken no problems. Then about 3-4 weeks into it my neutrophil count dropped. My Dr. had to D/C it due to risk of infection. Now I don't know what to do to control this intense itch! If anyone has used anything else with success please let me know! Thanks Dan

    Condition: Chronic Inflammatory Skin Disease Marked by Blisters
    7/17/2013 12:23:47 AM

    Reviewer: 45-54 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I was diagnosed with DH and prescribed Dapsone. Within 48 hours the lesions and itching started to subside. Within two weeks the lesions had all but disappeared and the itching was gone. I have had no side effects from Dapsone. It is truely a miracle drug.

    1-5 of 33 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    sticky notes on face
    10 tips to clear your brain fog.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    Trainer demonstrating exercise for RA
    Exercises for your joints.
    apple slices with peanut butter
    What goes best with workouts?
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.