Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of atorvastatin Oral.

Overall User Ratings

83 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 11-15 of 37 Next»
Condition: High Cholesterol
6/14/2014 11:43:53 AM

Reviewer: 75 or over Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I started taking Atorvastatin on July 24, 2013. en days later experienced severe stomach pain with cramps. This has gone on since. tried taking in morning, at night, with food. No relief. I stopped taking it June 14th 2014. Hopeful I will improve. Time will tell.

Condition: High Cholesterol
5/3/2014 8:55:39 AM

Reviewer: 65-74 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
Started taking this as a lower cost alternative to Crestor about a month ago. Started itching and getting a rash on my chest and stomach. Also ankles and feet are swelling. I haven't changed anything else in my routine or habits.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/29/2014 11:20:31 PM

Reviewer: Kiki B, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
While this medicine lowered my total cholesterol to 164 from 244, it caused side effects. I experienced persistent, intolerable muscle pain & weakness in both upper arms and debilitating hip pain. 7 days after stopping it, my arms are much better, hip pain is gone, and it feels like a cloud of fog has been lifted from me. I feel great! It's hard to believe that only 5 mg. per day of At ... Show Full Comment

Condition: High Cholesterol
2/5/2014 7:50:22 PM

Reviewer: lynda, 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
after 4 nights of nightmares,legs pain, trouble swallowing,headache,neck pain,back pain and on day 5 hives.dr tells me they cant be from this med but I KNOW BETTER i never had nightmares before,and the stomach pain and weekness and confusion dizziness didnt start till i took this med i notice im not the only one having trouble with this med..im wondering if the name brand is the same or just some ... Show Full Comment

Condition: High Cholesterol
1/15/2014 6:29:51 AM

Reviewer: Donna, 45-54 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
My ankles,feet and legs after 1 week are swollen

«Previous 11-15 of 37 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

hands on abdomen
Can you catch one?
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
womans hand on abdomen
Are you ready for baby?
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
mosquito
Stings, bites, burns, and more.
Allentown, PA
Are you living in one?
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.