Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of atorvastatin oral.

Overall User Ratings

87 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

«Previous 11-15 of 39 Next»
Condition: High Cholesterol
7/1/2014 11:03:48 AM

Reviewer: liams gramma, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 2

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
swollen ankles, severe leg cramps at night. If I stand too long my legs ache, and my shoulders across my back ache.I get tired very easy now.

Condition: High Cholesterol
6/24/2014 6:01:37 PM

Reviewer: 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
I can't say if this has worked or not as never had follow up of colestrol test. For days I have not known what to do with myself because of terrible musclesbcramps in my legs,can't slepp,can't concenrate,can't stay still just doing anything to get rid of it and now I have found this page and found it is a side effect. I was put on this one after taking Ramapril for a few years and ... Show Full Comment

Condition: High Cholesterol
6/14/2014 11:43:53 AM

Reviewer: 75 or over Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I started taking Atorvastatin on July 24, 2013. en days later experienced severe stomach pain with cramps. This has gone on since. tried taking in morning, at night, with food. No relief. I stopped taking it June 14th 2014. Hopeful I will improve. Time will tell.

Condition: High Cholesterol
5/3/2014 8:55:39 AM

Reviewer: 65-74 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
Started taking this as a lower cost alternative to Crestor about a month ago. Started itching and getting a rash on my chest and stomach. Also ankles and feet are swelling. I haven't changed anything else in my routine or habits.

Condition: High Cholesterol
3/29/2014 11:20:31 PM

Reviewer: Kiki B, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
While this medicine lowered my total cholesterol to 164 from 244, it caused side effects. I experienced persistent, intolerable muscle pain & weakness in both upper arms and debilitating hip pain. 7 days after stopping it, my arms are much better, hip pain is gone, and it feels like a cloud of fog has been lifted from me. I feel great! It's hard to believe that only 5 mg. per day of At ... Show Full Comment

«Previous 11-15 of 39 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
Woman running
Boost Your Metabolism.
build a better butt
How to build a better butt.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
young woman in sun
What to watch for.
brain scan with soda
Tips to kick the habit.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
stressed working woman
And how to fix them?
fat caliper
Check your BMI.
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
man with indigestion
How to keep yours at bay.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.