Skip to content

    Milk Allergy Tips continued...

    Substitutes for milk in recipes:

    • Rice milk
    • Soy milk (check the label to be sure it doesn’t contain milk-based ingredients)
    • Oat milk
    • Almond milk
    • Fruit juice can work (depending on the recipe, like in breads and muffins)
    • Broth (vegetable, chicken, or beef), for recipes like casseroles or mashed potatoes

    Substitutes for cheese in recipes:

    Look for vegan cheese alternatives in your supermarket or natural foods store. Vegi-kaas and Soymage offer several options.

    Substitutes for yogurt or sour cream in recipes:

    • Soy-based yogurt. Check the label to be sure it doesn't contain milk-based ingredients (such as White Wave Silk soy yogurts.)
    • Vegan sour cream substitutes, such as Yo-Soy and Tofutti Sour Supreme. The first four ingredients in Tofutti's Sour Supreme are partially hydrogenated soybean oil, isolated soy protein, maltodextrin, and tofu.
    • Soft or silken tofu, beaten or pureed until smooth

    Substitutes for cream sauces and white sauces in recipes:

    • Wine or broth-based sauces
    • Tomato sauces
    • Pesto (olive oil and basil) without cheese
    • Sundried tomato pesto without cheese

    Substitutes for butter and margarine in recipes:

    • There are several brands of vegan (dairy-free) margarines that you can use for recipes. Earth Balance has several options, such as their soy garden natural buttery spread and their vegan buttery sticks.
    • Use canola oil when possible. (If the recipes calls for beating the butter or margarine with sugar until fluffy, a straight substitute with oil won't obtain this texture result.)

    Baker's notes:

    The biggest difference using these substitutes will be flavor, as the natural flavor of butter, sour cream, and cheese are difficult to reproduce. The vegan cheeses will melt differently than dairy cheese.

    Egg Allergy Tips

    If you are allergic to eggs, you have to avoid all egg-based foods and dishes in addition to less obvious products and foods that surprisingly contain them. People may be allergic to the egg white, yolk, or both.

    Foods/products to avoid:

    • Baked goods like cakes, muffins, and cookies (unless homemade with egg-free recipes using commercially available egg replacements or ingredient substitutions.)
    • Cake and brownie mixes
    • Pancake and waffle complete mixes
    • Mayonnaise
    • Custards, puddings, Bavarian creams, cream puffs
    • Ice cream, filling for cream pies, and lemon and pumpkin pies
    • Eggnog and egg creams
    • Quiche, souffles, French toast, fritters, omelets, and other egg dishes
    • Pancakes and waffles
    • Breads that typically contain egg (such as muffins, rolls, bagels, doughnuts)
    • Meat & vegetable dishes that use egg as a coating or as part of a mixture (like meat loaf)
    • Some ethnic side dishes and entrees that feature pieces of egg, such as fried rice, chiles relleno, and egg rolls
    • Meringues and meringue powder
    • Some frostings
    • Pretzels
    • Anything made with egg substitutes (which are generally made with egg whites)
    • Sauces and dressings that contain eggs (hollandaise sauce, Caesar salad dressing, mayonnaise-based dressing)
    • Chocolates, marshmallows, and fondants
    • Soups containing egg noodles or any other soup or dish made with egg noodles

    Healthy Recipe Finder

    Browse our collection of healthy, delicious recipes, from WebMD and Eating Well magazine.

    Top searches: Chicken, Chocolate, Salad, Desserts, Soup

    Healthy Recipe Finder