Walnuts and fresh marjoram accent these vegan lentil burgers. Substitute oregano for marjoram if you like. Serve with a smear of whole-grain mustard and roasted sweet potato wedges.
- 1 large clove garlic, peeled
- 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
- 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted
- 2 slices whole-wheat sandwich bread, crusts removed, torn into pieces
- 1 tablespoon fresh marjoram, chopped, or 1 teaspoon dried
- 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper, fresh
- 1 1/2 cups lentils, cooked or canned; rinsed
- 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce, vegetarian or regular
- 3 teaspoons canola oil, divided
- 4 whole-wheat hamburger buns, toasted
- 4 pieces leaf lettuce
- 4 slices tomato, or jarred roasted red pepper
- 4 thin slices red onion
- Step 1
- Coarsely chop garlic; sprinkle with salt and mash to a paste with the side of the knife. Coarsely chop walnuts in a food processor. Add bread, marjoram, pepper and the garlic paste; process until coarse crumbs form. Add lentils and Worcestershire; process until the mixture just comes together in a mass. Form into four 3-inch patties (about 1/3 cup each).
- Step 2
- Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Cook the patties until browned on the bottom, 2 to 4 minutes. Carefully turn over; reduce heat to medium-low. Drizzle the remaining 1 teaspoon oil around the burgers and cook until browned on the other side and heated through, 4 to 6 minutes more. Serve on buns with lettuce, tomato (or red pepper) and onion.
- To make ahead, prepare and form patties, then tightly wrap them in plastic and refrigerate for up to 1 day or freeze for up to 3 months. If frozen, let defrost in the refrigerator before cooking.
- To cook lentils, place in a saucepan, cover with at least 1 inch of water, bring to a simmer and cook until just tender, 15 to 30 minutes, depending on the type of lentil. Drain and rinse with cold water. 1 cup dry lentils = about 2 1/2 cups cooked. Or use canned lentils: 15-ounce can = 1 1/2 cups. Rinse canned lentils before cooking with them to reduce the sodium by about 35%.
- Regular Worcestershire sauce contains anchovies and is not vegetarian. Look for vegetarian Worcestershire—flavored with molasses, soy sauce and vinegar—near other bottled sauces in natural foods stores or in the natural foods section of well-stocked supermarkets.
© Meredith Corporation. All rights reserved. Used with permission.
For more recipes go to EatingWell.com