Skip to content

Health Care Reform:

Health Insurance & Affordable Care Act

Back to ACA Health Insurance Terms List

Silver plan

In a state Marketplace, there may be up to four levels of health coverage. Each plan design is named after a type of metal. So you may hear these called the metal plans. Each plan design must cover all the essential benefits.

A silver-level plan is in the middle for how many health services it covers. It covers more than a bronze level but fewer than a gold or platinum level. Each company that’s selling health insurance in a Marketplace must offer at least one silver-level plan.

Silver plans have:

  • A medium amount of benefits. This means a health plan will pay for more health services than a plan at the bronze level.
  • High premium. You pay more each month for a silver plan than you would for a bronze one.
  • Medium out-of-pocket costs. With a silver plan, the amount you pay each time you get a health service, such as seeing a doctor or filling a prescription, is less than you would pay with a bronze plan, but more than you would pay with a gold plan.

A health plan in the silver level may be a good choice for you if you want to spread costs out more. For instance, you will pay more each month than with a bronze level, but you won’t have to pay as much when you see a doctor or buy a prescription medicine.

WebMD Definition

Health Insurance Terms

URAC: Accredited Health Web Site TRUSTe online privacy certification HONcode Seal AdChoices