WebMD
Font Size
A
A
A

Vegan

A vegan is a person who eats only fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, vegetables, and vegetable products and consumes no animal or dairy products of any kind.

The word vegan on prepared-food labels means that the product is made entirely from vegetables and vegetable products and contains no meat, fish, eggs, milk, or dairy products.

By Healthwise Staff
Primary Medical Reviewer E. Gregory Thompson, MD - Internal Medicine
Specialist Medical Reviewer Joseph O'Donnell, MD - Hematology, Oncology
Current as of December 10, 2012

WebMD Medical Reference from Healthwise

Last Updated: December 10, 2012
This information is not intended to replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any liability for the decisions you make based on this information.