Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Lung Cancer Health Center

Font Size

Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment (PDQ®): Treatment - Health Professional Information [NCI] - Cellular Classification of NSCLC

Malignant non-small cell epithelial tumors of the lung are classified by the World Health Organization (WHO)/International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC). There are three main subtypes of non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), including the following:

There are numerous additional subtypes of decreasing frequency.[1]

Recommended Related to Lung Cancer

Understanding Lung Cancer -- Symptoms

In its early stages, lung cancer normally has no symptoms. When symptoms start to appear, they are usually caused by blocked breathing passages or the spread of cancer further into the lung, surrounding structures, other parts of the body. Lung cancer symptoms may include: Chronic, hacking, raspy coughing, sometimes with blood-streaked mucus Recurring respiratory infections, including bronchitis or pneumonia Increasing shortness of breath, wheezing, persistent chest pain Hoarsenes...

Read the Understanding Lung Cancer -- Symptoms article > >

WHO/IASLC Histologic Classification of NSCLC

  1. Squamous cell carcinoma.
    1. Papillary.
    2. Clear cell.
    3. Small cell.
    4. Basaloid.
  2. Adenocarcinoma.
    1. Acinar.
    2. Papillary.
    3. Bronchioloalveolar carcinoma.
      1. Nonmucinous.
      2. Mucinous.
      3. Mixed mucinous and nonmucinous or indeterminate cell type.
    4. Solid adenocarcinoma with mucin.
    5. Adenocarcinoma with mixed subtypes.
    6. Variants.
      1. Well-differentiated fetal adenocarcinoma.
      2. Mucinous (colloid) adenocarcinoma.
      3. Mucinous cystadenocarcinoma.
      4. Signet ring adenocarcinoma.
      5. Clear cell adenocarcinoma.
  3. Large cell carcinoma.
    1. Variants.
      1. Large cell neuroendocrine carcinoma (LCNEC).
      2. Combined LCNEC.
      3. Basaloid carcinoma.
      4. Lymphoepithelioma-like carcinoma.
      5. Clear cell carcinoma.
      6. Large cell carcinoma with rhabdoid phenotype.
  4. Adenosquamous carcinoma.
  5. Carcinomas with pleomorphic, sarcomatoid, or sarcomatous elements.
    1. Carcinomas with spindle and/or giant cells.
    2. Spindle cell carcinoma.
    3. Giant cell carcinoma.
    4. Carcinosarcoma.
    5. Pulmonary blastoma.
  6. Carcinoid tumor.
    1. Typical carcinoid.
    2. Atypical carcinoid.
  7. Carcinomas of salivary gland type.
    1. Mucoepidermoid carcinoma.
    2. Adenoid cystic carcinoma.
    3. Others.
  8. Unclassified carcinoma.

Squamous cell carcinoma

Most squamous cell carcinomas of the lung are located centrally, in the larger bronchi of the lung. Squamous cell carcinomas are linked more strongly with smoking than other forms of NSCLC. The incidence of squamous cell carcinoma of the lung has been decreasing in recent years.


Adenocarcinoma is now the most common histologic subtype in many countries, and subclassification of adenocarcinoma is important. One of the biggest problems with lung adenocarcinomas is the frequent histologic heterogeneity. In fact, mixtures of adenocarcinoma histologic subtypes are more common than tumors consisting purely of a single pattern of acinar, papillary, bronchioloalveolar, and solid adenocarcinoma with mucin formation.

Criteria for the diagnosis of bronchioloalveolar carcinoma have varied widely in the past. The current WHO/IASLC definition is much more restrictive than that previously used by many pathologists because it is limited to only noninvasive tumors.

If stromal, vascular, or pleural invasion are identified in an adenocarcinoma that has an extensive bronchioloalveolar carcinoma component, the classification would be an adenocarcinoma of mixed subtype with predominant bronchioloalveolar pattern and a focal acinar, solid, or papillary pattern, depending on which pattern is seen in the invasive component. However, the future of bronchioloalveolar carcinoma as a distinct clinical entity is unclear; a multidisciplinary expert panel representing the IASLC, the American Thoracic Society, and the European Respiratory Society proposed a major revision of the classification of adenocarcinomas in 2011 that entails a reclassification of what was called bronchioloalveolar carcinoma into newly defined histologic subgroups.

The following variants of adenocarcinoma are recognized in the WHO/IASLC classification:

  • Well-differentiated fetal adenocarcinoma.
  • Mucinous (colloid) adenocarcinoma.
  • Mucinous cystadenocarcinoma.
  • Signet ring adenocarcinoma.
  • Clear cell adenocarcinoma.

WebMD Public Information from the National Cancer Institute

Last Updated: February 25, 2014
This information is not intended to replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any liability for the decisions you make based on this information.
Next Article:

Today on WebMD

lung cancer overview slideshow
what is your cancer risk
Using GPS to Detect Lung Cancer
mans hand putting out cigarette
15 Cancer Symptoms Men Ignore
Lung Cancer Risks Myths and Facts
cancer fighting foods
Improving Lung Cancer Survival Targeted Therapy
Lung Cancer Surprising Differences Between Sexes
Pets Improve Your Health
Vitamin D
Lung Cancer Surgery Options

WebMD Special Sections