Skip to content

Multiple Sclerosis Health Center

Multiple Sclerosis Stages and Progression Directory

There are four main types of multiple sclerosis: relapsing-remitting, primary-progressive, secondary-progressive, and progressive-relapsing. MS is characterized by exacerbations that may cause vision problems, walking problems, and other physical difficulties. MS in remission means that the person may still have symptoms but has returned to the "normal" state they were in before an exacerbation. MS treatments can help slow MS progression and control many symptoms. Follow the links below to find WebMD's comprehensive coverage about how MS progresses, what the stages are, how each stage is treated, and much more.

Medical Reference


Thumbnail: What to Expect With Primary Progressive MS

If you’ve been diagnosed with primary progressive MS, what can you do to understand your illness? Can you do anything to slow its rate of progression? And most importantly, what can you do today to prepare for tomorrow? Here’s how some people are finding the answers.

Read Full Article


Slideshows & Images

WebMD Answers

News Archive

Today on WebMD

nerve damage
Learn how this disease affects the nervous system.
woman applying lotion
Ideas on how to boost your mood and self-esteem.
woman pondering
Get personalized treatment options.
man with hand over eye
Be on the lookout for these symptoms.
brain scan
worried woman
neural fiber
white blood cells
sunlight in hands
illustration of human spine
muscle spasm
green eyed woman with glasses