Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

User Reviews & Ratings - MILK THISTLE

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of MILK THISTLE.

«MILK THISTLE Information

Review this Treatment

Overall User Ratings

52 Total User Reviews

Average Ratings

See products with MILK THISTLE

User Reviews

1-5 of 10 Next»
Reason for taking: Liver disease
3/26/2014 10:14:31 AM

Reviewer: 35-44 Male on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
A friend recommended this supplement when I was diagnosed with fatty liver, and had the liver enzymes high on my blood tests. (ALT 56 u/l). Taking 1,000 mg twice a day with food, the ALT levels when down from 56 on July 2013, to 53, on September, to 39 (on the normal range) in January 2014. So, although every person is different, it may take 6 or more months of taking it before your liver enzymes ... Show Full Comment

Reason for taking: Liver disease
1/27/2013 1:42:26 AM

Reviewer: Alina, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
Great herb,safe to use. Thanks to Mother Nature.

Reason for taking: Liver disease
12/14/2012 10:13:39 PM

Reviewer: blmmer12, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 2

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 2

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
I was taken to the hospital for chest pains---making it short---- my liver was enlarged, Dr took me off milk thistle & an estrogen patch was a no no. Thanks to this site I understand now why.

Reason for taking: Liver disease
7/1/2012 1:28:56 PM

Reviewer: 55-64 Female (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
great treatment. because of drugs prescribed to me my liver enzymes were very high. Dr. said I had to stop taking meds to free up my liver. Gave me 1 month. I mega dosed milk thystle,enzymes dropped dramatically. My dad is the 1 who told me about milk thystle. Dr. said whatever you are doing keep it up. That was 10 years ago. I tell everyone.

Reason for taking: Liver disease
3/17/2012 9:04:17 PM

Reviewer: trubrit22, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
My liver enzymes were high and now they are normal. Milk thistle has been used for over 2,000 years to treat liver disorders, poisoning and gallbladder problems. Worked for me.

1-5 of 10 Next»
Search for a Vitamin or Supplement

Ex. Ginseng, Vitamin C, Depression

Today on WebMD

Woman taking a vitamin or supplement
Article
Man taking a vitamin or supplement
Article
 
clams
Quiz
Woman in sun
Slideshow
 
Flaxseed added fiber
Video
!!69X75_Vitamins_Supplements.jpg
Evaluator
 
Woman sleeping
Article
Woman staring into space with coffee
Article
 
Related Newsletters

Stay Informed with the latest must-read information delivered right to your inbox.

IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.