Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

User Reviews & Ratings - LYSINE

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of LYSINE.

«LYSINE Information

Review this Treatment

Overall User Ratings

307 Total User Reviews

Average Ratings

See products with LYSINE

User Reviews

«Previous 121-125 of 148 Next»
Reason for taking: Cold sores
8/11/2010 12:01:03 AM

Reviewer: person, 35-44 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
When applied before the sore fully forms, it can prevent. I have also found that it reduces the time to heal the sore.

Reason for taking: Cold sores
8/10/2010 3:37:12 PM

Reviewer: doloresdkinney@yahoo.com, 65-74 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
one 500 tablet at first sign of sensitivity on lip. dentist recomended this years ago. take 2 a day--am-pm--until soreness and breakout is cleared. never had a side effect.

Reason for taking: Cold sores
6/13/2010 10:16:44 PM

Reviewer: snugsmom, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 10 years or more (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I used to get canker sores in my mouth all the time. About 20 years ago a chirpractor recommended I take 1000 mg of L-Lysine ervy waking hours for 2 days when I have sores or feel they are coming on. This works everytime and has worked for every friend I have ever recommended this to.

Reason for taking: Cold sores
6/9/2010 9:00:31 PM

Reviewer: Female

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I've gotten cold sore my whole lifewhen I was young It was bad at times lips, eyes, nose. I was never told Lysine worked but.now I am older I take 500mg daily and up it to 1000mg if not more depending on outbreaks I've been using L-Lysine for few years now, It does keep the blisters from becoming huge and ugly It really does work!

Reason for taking: Cold sores
5/29/2010 9:12:40 PM

Reviewer: Livewire, 55-64 Male on Treatment for 10 years or more (Consumer)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I started taking 500 mg tablets twice a day about 10 years ago and then increased to 1000 mg twice a day about 3 years ago and the Lysine seems to keep the cold sores away most of the time. I still get them occasionally whenever eating a lot of nuts, being in the sun a lot or being stressed. I highly recommend taking L-Lysine and have never experienced stomach upset or any other adverse effects.

«Previous 121-125 of 148 Next»
Search for a Vitamin or Supplement

Ex. Ginseng, Vitamin C, Depression

Today on WebMD

Woman taking a vitamin or supplement
Article
Man taking a vitamin or supplement
Article
 
clams
Quiz
Woman in sun
Slideshow
 
Flaxseed added fiber
Video
!!69X75_Vitamins_Supplements.jpg
Evaluator
 
Woman sleeping
Article
Woman staring into space with coffee
Article
 
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.