PREVIOUS QUESTION:

 

NEXT QUESTION:

 

What are ingredients with milk that should be avoided with a milk allergy?

ANSWER

If you see these listed on a label, the food has milk proteins in it:

  • Artificial butter or cheese flavor
  • Casein or caseinates
  • Curd
  • Ghee
  • Hydrolysates
  • Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
  • Lactose, lactoglobulin, lactoferrin, lactulose
  • Rennet
  • Whey or whey products

From: Living With a Milk Allergy WebMD Medical Reference

SOURCES:

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: "Milk Allergy."

Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network: "Milk."

Food Allergy Initiative: "Milk Allergy."

GirlsHealth.gov: "Milk Allergy."

Go Ask Alice, Columbia University: "Milk allergy or lactose intolerance?"

Reviewed by Kathleen M. Zelman on May 7, 2019

SOURCES:

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: "Milk Allergy."

Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network: "Milk."

Food Allergy Initiative: "Milk Allergy."

GirlsHealth.gov: "Milk Allergy."

Go Ask Alice, Columbia University: "Milk allergy or lactose intolerance?"

Reviewed by Kathleen M. Zelman on May 7, 2019

NEXT QUESTION:

What are tips for living well with a milk allergy?

WAS THIS ANSWER HELPFUL

THIS TOOL DOES NOT PROVIDE MEDICAL ADVICE. It is intended for general informational purposes only and does not address individual circumstances. It is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment and should not be relied on to make decisions about your health. Never ignore professional medical advice in seeking treatment because of something you have read on the WebMD Site. If you think you may have a medical emergency, immediately call your doctor or dial 911.

    This tool does not provide medical advice. See additional information.

    Other Answers On: