PREVIOUS QUESTION:

 

NEXT QUESTION:

 

Which foods should I avoid if I have a casein allergy?

ANSWER

In addition to casein, ingredients and foods to watch for and avoid include:

  • Calcium casein, casein hydrolysate, magnesium casein, potassium casein, rennet casein, sodium casein
  • Dairy products like cheese, yogurt, milk, pudding
  • Butter, butter flavoring, butter fat
  • Lactalbumin, lactoalbumin phosphate, lactaglobulin, lactose
  • Margarine
  • Nondairy creamers
  • Whey, whey hydrolysate

From: Casein Allergy Overview WebMD Medical Reference

SOURCES:

The Nemours Foundation: "Milk Allergy."

Children's Hospital Boston Center for Young Women's Health: "Milk Allergy: A Guide for Teens."

The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network: "Anaphylaxis."

Reviewed by Sabrina Felson on June 17, 2018

SOURCES:

The Nemours Foundation: "Milk Allergy."

Children's Hospital Boston Center for Young Women's Health: "Milk Allergy: A Guide for Teens."

The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network: "Anaphylaxis."

Reviewed by Sabrina Felson on June 17, 2018

NEXT QUESTION:

How can I eat to avoid casein?

WAS THIS ANSWER HELPFUL

THIS TOOL DOES NOT PROVIDE MEDICAL ADVICE. It is intended for general informational purposes only and does not address individual circumstances. It is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment and should not be relied on to make decisions about your health. Never ignore professional medical advice in seeking treatment because of something you have read on the WebMD Site. If you think you may have a medical emergency, immediately call your doctor or dial 911.

    This tool does not provide medical advice. See additional information.

    Other Answers On: