Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

143 People found this comment helpful

I have been a "highly funtioning" depressed person for many years: life of the party, witty, intelligent, charming, intelligent conversationalist, highly successful at the top of the food chain in my field, ...until I got home. Work was an escape from myself for me. If I had no weekend functions to attend I would be catatonic, only getting out of bed to use the bathroom. I had always felt like a...

Shared reviews and ratings

alex | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sertraline changed my life. As with many others I waited months to start the medication because of all the horror stories I read on this website. Although everyone's experience is different I wanted to say that there IS hope for you. I suffer from debilitating anxiety. I could barely sleep at night, going to the grocery store was painful, my intrusive thoughts felt like they were crippling me. The first week or so, I had a few side effects. I had some headaches and I would get waves of slightly increased anxiety about 5 hours after taking my pill. After that, side effects pretty much went away. I can now sleep at night, going to the store is less painful, most importantly the intrusive thoughts have decreased immensely. I think it is worth trying. I feel like I can finally breathe. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicky | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never been on any meds...but after the lost of my only daughter...this has help me to cop .. Its only been 4 months...and my doctor started me on this a month ago...thank god ...i was loosing my mind...but now ..i can somewhat handle with my ...mood swings ..crying...and feeling guilty...without this is ..i might have ended up in the psych ward.. Again a month ..I'm doing better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M Mazzone | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 25mg daily. Been on it for about 1 year now. I might be getting use to the drug cause my Anxiety and Panic attacks are coming back. I have also gained about 25 lbs. Plus I now have NO interest in having sex. Thinking about asking my Dr. to change the Meds just don't like the side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oolid3 | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/10/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on 25mg for coming up on two months, the only side effect I've had is light sensitivity and a little bit of weight gain (which tbh I needed). Within days of taking it I got euphoria and seemed happier, but Within a month it began leveling out and it became moderate happiness. May need to up the dosage however because now being almost two months on it, mild depressive symptoms are hitting harder, but I'm pretty sure that's a tolerance thing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cappa | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 3 tablets. 1st day i was drowsy couldn't sleep tensed jaw. Second day felt fake and numbness inside, third day burning sensation in upper belly and brain felt like my mind was going nuts and mental. I have stopped these maybe good for others but not me. People put your trust in The One Creator and leave your problems and future in His Hands you will definitely find relief and what ever happens happens for the best as long as you have made your supplication and you've put your Trust in Him Alone you carry on in life. Prophetic saying "Tie your camel but put your Trust in your Creator". Do seek medical help but also remember that Truly in the remembrance of The One Creator do hearts find peace. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/8/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained a lot of weight and basically lived in a fog. It also made my anxiety symptoms a lot worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Most positive decision I could have made - life changing for me, and despite being worried the side effects were short lived and minimal. Highly recommended

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C2000 | 19-24 | Female | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had panics attacks and anxiety since I was 14 (I’m now 23) I would get so anxious I would be vomiting almost every time I socialised. I tried propanalol and online cbt and nothing seemed to work. Doctor recommended sertraline November 2021 and I waited to take it until January 2022 because I was so scared from all the horror stories online. I now take 50mg every day and it’s the best thing I’ve ever done. When I first took it I felt slightly out of it for a couple weeks and a bit twitchy but nothing bad at all. I no longer have panic attacks/vomiting from anxiety and I rarely get anxious at all. It is amazing. I don’t have any side affects from it. When I first took it I would get drunk very easily but now I’ve been on it for 4 months my tolerance is much better again. I couldn’t recommend it enough. I read so many negative reviews and was terrified but it’s been amazing for me Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love the medicine but im experiencing trouble swallowing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xyz | 25-34 | Other | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm having OCD and I can say this medication saved my life. Since I was a child I was struggling a lot and was taking Citalopram for years beforehand but 2 years on Sertraline just saved me. It makes you a bit emotionless, you can feel joy less but it also doesn't make you feel the debilitating depression and anxiety. You can get anxious and have intrusive thoughts but they are not nearly as sticky as they were before taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really didn’t want to take medication at all but I eventually relented and gave it a go. I’m a 40 year old married man with a teenage son. I got to a point where I was deeply unhappy and didn’t recognise myself anymore. I didn’t think I was depressed but I know now that I was. Lack of sleep was making everything worse and I started to spiral quickly despite my best efforts not to. I must stress that the first week taking Sertraline was horrible. My biggest issue prior to taking medication was insomnia and it only got worse in the first week. My stomach wasn’t great either. If you’ve just started taking please keep going. I’ve taken it for 3 months now and I feel great. I’ve done many things alongside the medication such as counselling and a positive intelligence course but everything combined has worked wonders for me. I’m going to take for 6 months and then taper off it. I did try mirtazapine first but it made me feel too spaced out the next day. I’ve also tried to eat better, exercise more and I feel like me again. I hope this helps someone reading this as it’s completely changed my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HappierNow | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, if you have just started on Sertraline brace yourself for hell on earth. Stress and anxiety led to my GP prescribing Sertraline and for 3 weeks it was a terrible experience. Anxiety heightened, shaking, loss of appetite and apathy. I was always a functioning depressive/anxious person but couldn't get out of bed after beginning to take Sertraline. But, suddenly one morning, I woke up and just felt fine. Since then anxiety has disappeared and I have a proper perspective on life. Without a doubt, a wonder drug!! I now know how it feels to he "normal"!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As I believe it can be good for some people, I couldn’t bear the side effects. I took Zoloft sertraline 50mg to start, I couldn’t go more than 6 days of taking it. I’m currently 3 and a half days off of it. As some things feel a bit normal, I still feel as if I’m suffering side effects. Dizziness, nausea, with these come a lack of appetite. I honestly thought the first couple days off I had a stomach ulcer, but there’s been slight relief once I finally managed to eat a tiny bit. Dreams have been very weird, and waking up every couple of hours. It still impacts my day-to-day life as of right now, and I’m hopeful that things will go back to normal as I have a phobia of nausea. Find it hard to get out of bed with these nasty side effects persisting. As I mentioned, this may benefit some people, but it’s definitely not for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on sertraline for 10 years and recently bumped up my dosage from 50 to 100mg recently. My only complaint with sertraline is no libido. I thought weight gain was also a side effect but at my age started at 42 now at 52 I think I just needed to change eating habits as metabolism slows as we age so I'm not convinced it was sertraline causing weight gain. I lost the extra weight on low carb now for a few years and back to normal BMI. Libido though is an issue. Anxiety is debilitating so it was a trade off.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Riverd | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

200mg…… Been on sertraline for 6 years. No issues……unless I try to cut down¡

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nae | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/17/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for a week. First few days I felt fine. Then started to have bruising on my thighs, belly and boobs went straight to the hospital and was told to stop the medication. The bruising is a very very rare side effect even the pharmacist and dr never heard of it. It’s apparently on the last page of the side effects booklet. I had to have two blood tests to check my blood platelets so make sure everything went back to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellany | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
3/13/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn’t get too many side effects. Has helped with my anxiety and depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Arrowree | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on sertraline for 6 weeks as of tomorrow. I was prescribed Sertraline for long-term social anxiety and depression (12 years). The first symptoms I experienced were big pupils and stomach upset (gurgling when I ate), morning diarrhoea and lack of appetite. I also had very vivid, realistic and sometimes unpleasant dreams. As much as this sounds horrible, it’s a sign the medication is building up in your system! At week 3 I had to take 2 weeks off work due to the increase in anxiety. My heart was racing at night, had insomnia etc. I definitely feel much better now. I can cope better with social situations, I’m not frozen in fear anymore. I cope much better in stressful situations and my thoughts are much more controlled ( I don’t catastrophicise my thoughts as much). Wish I started antidepressants years ago…but as part of the condition I was too scared to talk about it! Push past the side effects, it is worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JWHU | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dose was increase in all fairness to the maximum dosage of 200mg by a deluded psychiatrist with little thought put into the decision. This drug of course works wonders for some people, but being 17-18 at the time, it infact worsened my symptoms and I felt very constipated and anxious. Duloxetine (60mg) has worked well for me. I would note that your simply careful and sure this drug works for you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Krystle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started 25mg of medication January 15th. The first week or so was pretty awful. I would randomly get sweaty feet, I would wake up 2 or 3 times a night super nauseous and just feeling very off, I was extremely tired, and completely lost my appetite. I was also very restless and fidgety. Despite the side effects and feeling icky, I didn't have any panic attacks and felt happier. After about a week a half I felt much better and the side effects were almost gone. After 2 weeks, I upped the dosage to 50mg and the next week was awful again. Pretty much all the same side effects as before, but not quite as bad. After one more week of side effects that gradually got better, I woke up and felt like a fog had lifted and I felt INCREDIBLE! I have been on 50 MG now for about 5 weeks and I am a brand new person. I have so much energy, zero anxiety, no depression and I genuinely love life again. If you are are co sidering taking this meds, the first few weeks might be rough, but push through and hopefully you will experience relief whatever you're seeking. It has been life changing and I am so happy I got over my fear and gave medication a shot finally. I have been avoiding it for years and I'm glad I finally gave it a go. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More