Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

the drug manufacturers don't tell us about hair loss, brain damage, severe depression, hallucinations, spinal cord damage, memory loss, cognitive problems, shaking, etc. I've been on it for 5 years and my pre-prograf MRI of my brain was fine. Now I have brain damage. I've also been diagnosed as severely bi-polar, and my once thick hair is all but gone!

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Lots of side effects, hair loss is severe. Tingling, blurred vision, and insomnia. I am very thankful for my liver. Six months tomorrow 8/5/2014.

Shared reviews and ratings

45packer | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/28/2021
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 22 year survivor of a liver transplant. I have been on this product for the entire time. HOWEVER I have reduced my dosage to zero over the last 3 years. I had just about all the symptoms, pain, weakness, insomnia, digestive issues (diarrea). I could go on and on but we all know what it does. Constant bloodwork AST/ALT during this time has shown the my liver is doing great with no issues. Other than feeling a million times better being off this stuff, my Doc is amazed that there are no issues. We still monitor the usual things and stay on top of it . After 22 years I know my body, and I know I have regained my life. I just had my 66th birthday!! I have a great Doc that worked with me and I DO NOT recommend doing what I did unless you have a GREAT Doc to help through it, but I would say try to talk to the Doc about taking baby steps in reducing your dose even a little bit. In 1999 when I had my transplant I was taking 8mg daily. After one year of suffering all those side effects, we reduced the dosage to half 4mg. After 5 years we went down to 2mg and I stayed with that dose for ten more years. The last 3 years its' 1mg a day. Then 1mg every other day then once a week and now ZERO. Again, I have a tremendous Doc who worked with me and the GI the entire time. DO NOT DO THIS YOURSELF, IT TAKES A GREAT DOCTOR TO HELP ONE THROUGH THIS, CONSTANT MONITORING OF BLOODWORK AND THE USUAL CHECK UPS MUST BE DONE. I have a new life and my wife thinks I'm a horny teenager(almost) LOLRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe Bellnier | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/22/2017
Condition: Prevent of Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pancreas transplant 13 months ago been on prograf only complaint I have is the shakiness, tremors in my hands.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helen | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2017
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

baldness and tremors

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/29/2017
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sophie | 13-18 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/28/2016
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a liver transplant when I was only two and a half years old, and have been taking prograf since day one. This medicine is hard on my kidneys, which causes me to have high blood pressure, but I am given another med to help with that. This new years eve will be my 12 year "liver-virsery" and I have not gone into rejection thanks to prograf. I must say that this med along with a few others(CellCept)(Enalapril)are the reason I'm here today.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/26/2016
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just wanted to comment to the people who left comments. First if you are changed to generic in most provinces the doctor can have it changed back if it is causing you major troubles. Second to the people just started in the past less then a year. Most side effects will calm down and your hair will grow back , some times thicker. This is my second transplant--the first one lasted 28 years. I fell very blessed. May God bless you all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JERSEY59 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/16/2015
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

START 1-15-2014 DOUBLE ORGAN TRANSPLANT LIV/KID 20 MONTHS GOING STRONG

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sstubbum | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2015
Condition: Prevention of Cardiac Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only 5 weeks - a little edginess for first hour or two, then ok. No rejection so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ronald Pennington | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2015
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only 3 months since liver transplant. Was on Dialysis.,but after 6 weeks. Had temp. 100.3. Found infection in blood.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doris | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/13/2015
Condition: Prevention of Lung Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lots of side effects - tremors in hands and feet, but worse - loss of hair. Must do Labs diligently or else it will easily go to toxic levels and cause even worse side effects - impaired balance, major memory loss and confusion, inability to complete tasks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Soberdog | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/13/2015
Condition: Rejection of Liver Transplant
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on the Prograf and Cellcept combo for 13 years next week. Diabetes (well controlled) as a result and some bad skin cells have had to be removed. Frequent urine elimination. All as result of transplant meds. SMALL PRICE TO PAY for being alive today.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/4/2014
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lots of side effects, hair loss is severe. Tingling, blurred vision, and insomnia. I am very thankful for my liver. Six months tomorrow 8/5/2014.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggsos | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this drug for 9 years. Some side effects, mainly shaking & trembling hands. Works great and it is better than the alternative. I am so thankful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pdh42 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Prevention of Lung Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just crossed the 1 year mark for using prograf and take the generic for lung transplant. At first it looked like I was going to be diebetic but that passed within the first month of being on it. I started out at 4.5 mg twice a day and with in 9 months I was down to 2 mg twice a day and now I am back up to 4.5 mg twice a day to hold at 8-10 range. Hand tremors at times and when they happen it is a pain to eat. My biggest problem seems to be feet and leg pains that by the end of the day hurts like the devil to walk or even sit at times and have to take pain meds to help control these pains. I have had Insmonia from day 1 and I take 5mg of Ambien to help me sleep. I have learned to control the mood swings with the help of God and prayer. Prograf has its issues in life, but it is far better to breathe and deal with these other issues than it would have been to die from not breathing. I thank God for this drug and my family who has stood by me in these times.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sable | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/8/2014
Condition: Prevention of Lung Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a lung transplant and was put on prograf shortly after transplant. I have had two severe bouts of side affects. The prograf got out of whack and I went completely out of my my mind....the first time for 19 days...the second time just 3 days. I have been able to tolerate it for almost ten years. I also took Rapamune but for some reason my doctor decided not to continue it. He watches me carefully and I get blood tests once a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bjc06142aol.com | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/21/2014
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely, no rejection. Transplant was 6 months ago. No side effects. Feel great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe J | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/25/2014
Condition: Prevent Kidney Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Prograf(brand name) for one year after kidney transplant and creatinine was always between 1.3 and 1.4. Now have been switched to Tracolimus (generic)for three months and the creatinine level has increased from 1.5 to 1.7. Has anyone else experienced this switching to generic or does anyone know if this could be the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BZ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Prevention of Liver Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had liver transplant on June 2010 due to Hep B caused liver cancer. Taking Prograf since day 1, now down to 1mg twice a day. Minor side effects include high blood pressure and cold hands. Very thankful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/16/2014
Condition: Prevention of Lung Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bosco Hern | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/9/2013
Condition: Prevention of Cardiac Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To the liver transplant patient experiencing trembling--my docs have ordered me to take magnesium to counteract the tendency of Prograf (and CellCept, the other anti-rejection drug I take ) to cause muscle trembling. If you're not already taking magnesium, it's worth a talk with your doc. Downside-tends to encourage movement in your lower g.i. tract, if you know what I'm talking about.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More