Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

114 People found this comment helpful

Oxycodone is the BEST pain medication for CHRONIC SEVERE LOWER LUMBAR BACK PAIN! It works a bit less by the 4th year or so, but, at least takes the "edge" off more than any other pain medication. The problem is....many, many doctors will not take you on as a patient for "chronic severe pain" with anything...if you need any narcotic in order to function! They ALL seem to be "FRAIDY CATS" because...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

Everyone Who is reading this and taking this drug, get ready for the your life is about to become. If you stay on it longer than 6 weeks you are now in the oxy-head club! Once you reach tolerance level, and taking over what the Dr. prescribes its over, you loose libido, the interest in going out , ya i've heard the whole Quantity over Quality life bit spoken like a true hooked, yes addicted per...

Shared reviews and ratings

Daniel | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/27/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this Rhodes oxycodone for the first time and it didn’t give me any pain relief. What a nightmare having to take this stuff for a month. I couldn’t sleep last night because of the pain. The FDA is a joke to allow this crap on the market. I’m considering legal action for a month of pain and suffering.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joanne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no side effects from Oxycodone IR. I take 10 - 15 MG 3 to 4 times a day. I have arthritis in my spine, degenerative disc, spinal stenosis and possibly fibromyalgia. The KVK manufacturer brand really works. Once Walgreens gave me Rhodes brand I literally thought someone gave me a placebo it was so ineffective. I complained but couldn't exchange. I had a very painful month. So now I always check the manufacturer before I get a refill or I go somewhere else. Now I have SPECGX which I don't like as well as KVK so I will say something again but it works ok. In researching Rhodes I found out that the guy who is in trouble about Oxy bought a small pharmaceutical plant which is Rhodes and is trying to pass something off. Or is putting a lot less amount of the actual opiod in the pill bcz it really doesn't work. Never again will I be duped. I'll change pharmacies.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started having several episodes per year of severe pain in upper right abdominal quadrant (right under ribcage) at about age 33 (I'm now 68), which lasted a very predictable 2 to 3 days/episode, before subsiding. Worst pain was at night, when I'd stay awake tossing and turning and trying to self-alleviate (superstitious behavior, really). Usually, around 3AM, the pain would lessen enough to sleep, but then I was a basket case the next day, and often skipped work. I'd try Tylenol and Ibuprofen, which had very little effect. Fast forward 20 years. After having all 4 wisdom teeth removed, I was prescribed Endocet, an opiate, which was very effective for that particular pain. About 6 years later, during one of my stomach episodes, I noticed the unused Endocet in the medicine cabinet, and thought, "hmmm...six years past expiration, probably useless," but took one or two anyway, just to see. Wow! Two tablets relieved my pain completely, and I slept like a baby. Six years after the supposed expiration date! Next time I visited my doctor, who had no explanation for these flare ups, I told him about the leftover Endocet experience and he wrote me a prescription for Oxycodone. Of course, this worked at least as well (5 to 10 mg per episode, always taken at night), and I usually took only about 5 total 5mg tablets over 3 days before the pain subsided. I never experience constipation or any sense of tolerance, probably because of how infrequently I actually take this medication (4 to 7 episodes per year, usually weeks to months between each very unpredictable flare up). Since that discovery my doctor typically wrote me one 30-tablet prescription every 6 months. Having it available "when needed" completely eliminated the pain, and thus the ability of these attacks to derail my life for 2 to 3 days each time. That doctor retired a few years ago, and my new MD is more nervous about filling this prescription, although he has continued to do so. He always talks about "weaning me off of it," which make no sense, as I take it very responsibly and am at about the lowest dose and schedule of administration of anyone I'd every met or read about. The hysteria about addiction and overdose (almost always due to Fentanyl) has led to an overabundance of caution regarding opiates, and this really does a disservice to people who truly need an opiate to deal with chronic pain. As one writer on this forum already noted, research has shown that for people who truly take opiates for pain, the risk of becoming addicted is about 2%, and even that number is populated largely by individuals who struggle with other addictions (e.g., alcohol). I’d love to see the day when people who are at almost zero risk of addiction, like myself, can comfortably obtain this medication, by prescription, in whatever amount is needed to effectively treat their otherwise unmanageable pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JojoO | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have several degenerative disks in my lower back and have been taking Oyxcodone 5 mg with 325 mgs acetaminophen 3x a day for about 18 months. I rarely have had to take 2 at a time as long as I am consistently on it it works. I also get epidural injections 2-3 times a year. I wake up in severe pain each am, take 1, 5 mg pill, wait about and hour and at am able to get up. My husband has to pull me out of bed screaming without the pill. This month CVS gave me the Alvogen generic and it DOES NOT WORK. I have used it for several days without relief. Formerly I was receiving Rhoades pharmacy generic. I am reluctant to take two. Of course CVS will not take it back and my doctor cannot write another prescription till next month. Is anyone else having this issue with this brand? Should I report this to the FDA. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Several years ago, my pharmacy, unknowingly to me…filled my Thyroid medication using a different manufacturer than I had previously been prescribed. 5 days into the prescription and moments away from going to the hospital from feeling so horrible. Is when I realized it was the medication. This was the first time using this particular manufacturer, as far back as a year was the timeline I could track. Being a creature of habit, I don’t try anything new…ever. I like what I like, so why change it….but it did take a couple of hours to narrow down the only change over that 5 day span was that medication. That was when I became more aware of what I was taking and who was making it. This wasn’t the only medication I had developed a sensitivity to. Depending on the manufacturer, Oxycodone is also one I have to be careful with. Each manufacture uses a different % of the actual drug, the remaining % are fillers. Different manufacturers use a different combination of fillers. The fillers cause enough side effects that I have to get the pharmacy to order the manufacturer I can tolerate regularly. Currently, I take 10mg Oxycodone for break through pain and have since 2009. My Pain issues began in 2009 with 3 car accidents, back surgery and breast cancer with multiple related surgeries...so by no means am I exaggerating my pain. On 4/1/22, my pharmacy filled my script with Rhodes brand of the 10mg Oxycodone. As soon as I opened the bottle, I knew it wouldn't work. It was after 9pm, so the next day I visited my pharmacy, but they claimed it was the only brand in stock. They were willing to order if I could get a new script from my Pain Mgmt Dr., however he wouldn't even listen to me. So I am 20days in to taking the Rhodes version of Oxycodone. I didn’t take them at first, had to count on Ibprophyn/Muscle Relaxers. However, needing to return to work I tried them. 9am I took 1, nothing. 10am I took another, nothing. 11am a 3rd, still nothing. I did have headaches/stomach aches and chest discomfort..no pain relief. On day 4, I took 3 at 1 time...it took the edge off. So I do that once a day. Down side they make me feel horrible, headaches, stomach ache. Hoarseness, Heartburn/ indigestion, stomach pain, severe constipation, chest discomfort, dry mouth, increased urination. Still no help from any of my doctors. This long message came about due to the miserable side effects I have had to endure to take the Rhodes Oxy. Sadly, with my Pain Dr. appointment coming up tomorrow I will be drug tested and if the drug is not in my system, they will assume I am selling them or giving them away. So it’s a double edge sword. I did my research, I knew Rhodes was bad…I hope to god someone reads so they know they know to avoid Rhodes if at all possible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luigi | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/3/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I led a healthy lifestyle for the past forty years and now I'm a 75 year old male who eats judiciously and exercises six days per week. In 2003 I underwent angioplasty and within a month was cautiously exercising again. The highly active lifestyle eventually took its toll on my joints so that now advanced arthritis has dominated my life. Presently, the dilemma I have is the choice to maintain the healthy, active lifestyle by using opioids or stop exercising and compromise my cardiovascular system. I chose ten years ago to have my cake and eat it too by taking the narcotic as prescribed and maintaining the active lifestyle. This approach has been completely successful. Yet, after ten years there is little to no euphoria, but there is neither the pain. I have ultimately achieved my goals (sans the euphoria) and can easily live with that. As a sidebar, if you want to scientifically test an opioid's effectiveness, stop taking it for a short period (no longer than a day or two) and see if the pain returns. I have so many sources of pain at my age and Oxycodone has been the panacea for my discomforts. I'm tested regularly for liver malfunction and truly grateful to have found a viable solution. What we lack are unstigmatized clinical trials of cohorts of patients for whom opioids have served their chronic purposes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually get KVK PINK oxycodone 10mg but this month I received Rhodes white pill. Horrible! I didn’t realize til I got home and cvs wouldn’t take back. They should be off the market. No relief stomach pain headaches. Be warned. Tell pharmacy to put no RHODES ON FILE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aRandomHuman | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Current conditions: -Spinal Stenosis -Bone Spurs -Herniated discs in neck & back -Degenerative Disc Disease in neck. Been on 45mg IR Oxycodone daily for 5 years now and it still works for pain. Yes tolerance has built up and expected it but it’s still effective in making me ‘comfortable’ enough to live a somewhat decent productive life. In addition to the Oxycodone, I take naproxen and Tylenol, with a muscle relaxer to take when needed and spaced apart from my Oxycodone, or as far apart as I can which is always after work/around bed time. Highest dose I’ve been on was 60mg a day and was on that for about a year. I myself requested to go down knowing the addiction risks. So I’m very happy at the 45mg a day now. Taking pain meds on a daily basis anywhere from months to years is obviously not ideal, but it is unfortunately and fortunately the only thing that has worked; I’ve have several Ablations, several steroid shots and two surgeries with no avail. Narcotics have been my only savior so far. I don’t have urges of wanting to get ‘high’ off them(if I even could anyways with my tolerance) I’ve resisted asking for any increases because I know my tolerance will just keep building and building as will the cycle would just continue. Also, because taking an artificial pain reliever causes more dopamine to be released than normal which in turn causes the brain to get used to the artificial “reward of dopamine” and that your brain stops producing the natural dopamine which in turn will cause depression, low libido and low overall pleasure in life. That’s why I stick with the lowest dose possible. Anyone new to opioids and are reading this, I highly advise you to not only keep your dose low but don’t abuse it. That will only take you down a bad road, a road I’ve witnessed many others go down and not come back from. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buddy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/4/2022
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I go from tramadol to hydrocodone to oxycodone and none of them works. They make me sick on my stomach, headaches, dizziness, swelling in the feet, chest pain and breathing problems with more. When I stop these meds the side effects go away but even tho they make me sick I still get a little relief. If anyone has any suggestions I’m all ears.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Severe back pai | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/20/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 2.5mg of oxycodone-apap for 12 years. I have severe disc problems and spinal stenosis. Have enough pain relief from this small does, that I can bare the pain. I read other comments and I think people don't understand that this type of medication taken on a daily basis is not going to eliminate all pain. It's only meant to take the edge off. If you're getting high from it then you're taking to much. The idea of pain management is quality of life. The exception of course is for acute pain, or terminal illness. All medications from all manufacturers must go through the FDA process. If the meds aren't making you high anymore it's a drug tolerance, but they may still work for pain. This is how I am. If course a higher dose makes me high, but I have no increased pain relief. I have started to get injections in my back. It took a few tries to get enough relief, but along with my low dose pain meds, I'm much better. One thing I noticed thar helped alot. I cut back on sugar and carbohydrates and began taking turmeric and alpha hypoxic acid. The sugars cause inflammation. The turmeric and AHA decrease inflammation. Check with your doctor before trying the supplements. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bubbyjerm | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rhodes Pharmaceuticals oxycodone pills do not work and are a waste. They should be pulled from pharmacies and replaced with a brand that works like KVK Pharmaceuticals or Qualitest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FC | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/21/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just got home and realized I got this inferior, horrible medicine from Rhodes again! I told the pharmacy to NEVER give me this brand again. It's so bad, that by the end of the first day of using it, I start having withdrawal symptoms and the pain is unbearable. I cannot go through a month of this hell! Why is the FDA allowing this crap on the market? I am beside myself right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually get the pink 10 mg oxycodone, but yesterday Walgreens gave me the white 10 mg by Rhodes. This manufacturer is making garbage! It gave me the WORST headache & did nothing for my pain! I called Walgreens to report my experience & told them I wanted my usual pills! She ordered them, but I now will have to pay out of pocket to get them filled ??! Total BS! I told her to put in my file to ONLY give me the other manufacturer! Hope this helps someone else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
20 mg oxycodon, | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This month when I picked up my prescription at Walgreens, the gave me oxycodone made by Rhodes & not my usual oxycodone made by KVK. This last 30 days was the worst for pain. Rhodes didn’t work at all. It was terrible. What can I do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Norman Maxwell | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Leukemia bone marrow cancer in August of 2021 (3 months ago almost 4 months now) and my Oncologist and my PCP, my primary care physician worked very closely on which pain medicine to put me on, they both work closely on all of my medications since I am now a cancer patient that uses chemotherapy to treat my Leukemia, and so they both came up with putting me on 40mg of OxyContin the Extended Release version of Oxycodone (one tablet every 12 hours, so 2 tablets a day) and then they have me on ROXICODONE, the immediate release version of oxycodone, and that Tablet is 15mg, and im allowed to take that up to 6 times a day as needed, but these medicines make me more nauseous then the chemotherapy!! I don’t know how people can want to abuse these 2 drugs?!! They work for pain but man oh man do they make me feel sick to my stomach, YUCK!!!, what I want to know is what else can you do for the nausea and vomiting from taking these 2 pain medicines The oncologist doctor gave me ZOFRAN, LORAZEPAM & PROMETHAZINE to use (As Needed for severe Nausea and vomiting) before taking the pain medicine and before the chemotherapy…. But what else can I do for Nausea and dizziness?? because it’s just so terrible!! Those pain meds together do work but they come with consequences… sometimes I think the added Nausea is not worth it… can somebody please help me?? Thank you so much. Maybe I should stop taking the OxyContin and Roxicodone and start using medical Thc?? has anyone had good results from medical Thc? HELP!! Thank you Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/30/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rhodes manufacturer is HORRIBLE..Ive been prescribed oxycodone 20s for over 5 years, and this month Walgreens gave me generic Rhodes manufactured oxycodone instant release.. I do not feel them nor do I get any pain relief!! What do I do now?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thankful it Works | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree with the person stating that Pain Management Doctors are becoming reluctant to prescribe opioids and are feeling pressure from outside sources.I had to change to oxycodone because vicoprofen fell off the market( and Medicate WILL NOT cover it.).I actually find I can do less of the same comparable dosage.Yes..there is the addiction concern. I have been on this medication for 20 years....and I am able to lead a fairly normal life.I am 66 with a bulging lower disc and chronic shoulder nerve damage/ pain.I am afraid to have any type surgery.I have tried Medical Marijuana with good results but unfortunately it affects my immune system.I try daily to take one pill less.People have no business shaming or trying to reduce the availability of a drug that helps people,in SERIOUS NEED, with chronic pain attempt to live a normal life.No- One should have to experience daily pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gayle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2021
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst. It was like taking nothing. KVKTECH is 100%better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rhoades pharmaceuticals oxycodone???? I feel like I'm on meth mixed with poison ivy! First time with this manufacturer and I feel so different from my last months brand. Been prescribed for years and never had this reaction. Be careful with this manufacturer. Something is definitely off about this one to the point where 2nd day of the script I'm ready to go exchange for different manufacturer if that were possible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jimmy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rhodes brand are very bad ! They are not even with bbb, I have filled many complaints with med watch, the drug store, told my doctor, just not a thing we can do , I live in north Louisiana, and they just can’t keep meds in stock! Stay away from Rhodes meds , they do not work! Everyone should file a complaint with them !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More