Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I have suffered from intense, chronic panic attacks and general anxiety since I was a child, and doctors have tried a wide range of medicines w/out very much success. This drug has drastically reduced the frequency and severity of my panic attacks, as well as my overall anxiety. It's not a miracle drug, as I do still have troubles, but it has made them easily manageable! I do have odd dreams, but ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

i am nervous of taking beta blockers as i thought they were for heart problems.

Shared reviews and ratings

TS | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 45 mg dose once/day for a week. Experience some nausea and have to take my time standing up due to some dizzy condition. My question is "will the side effects diminish with time? If so, how much time?" Thank you to anyone who can give me some answer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 61 who in the past year suffer from Anxiety, once i feel the symptoms coming I take 3 10mgs and in about half hour I feel better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janineniemiec | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2021
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this for about 3 months started at 20mg and now taking 40mg. but the side effects are horrible for me. Dizzy...back pain...nausea and chest pains with cough. Talking to my dr this week hoping to get off of this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
N/A | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This does not help with anxiety and rapid heart rates, instead of that it causes severe stomach pains feeling like you're getting stabbed in the stomach and feels like your gonna die, the worst anxiety medication ever, I could barely walk because of how bad these stomach cramps and pains have been affecting me every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/14/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this after I was taken off xanax. I took xanax forv20 years. The withdrawals were awful. This med has helped with withdrawals, anxiety, bipolar,and panic attacks. So far so good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Krist | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just start taking so far so good my head still hurts but yesterday was my first dose

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only thing is I'm tired a lot but I've only been on it for a week. It did help with lowering my blood pressure and anxiety. Hopefully the tiredness will go away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sleepy | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for anxiety and to stop my hands from shaking but I already have really low blood pressure and this just makes it even lower. I feel extremely tired all of the time and cold even when I dress warm (it's spring in socal so it's in the mid 80's and I'm still wearing winter coats). I've been getting really low blood sugar as well and have almost fainted a few times (I am not diabetic). It's interfered with my studies at university and in my smaller classes, the professors have kept me after class to ask if I'm okay because I'm super pale and have a thousand yard stare. I've taken this before a few years ago and had similar problems, but I was taking it while being underweight, so now that I'm at a normal weight I thought it would change. I've been continuing to take it to see if I'm just getting used to it, but the side effects continue. It sucks because it takes away my anxiety symptoms, but the costs outweigh the benefits. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/15/2019
Condition: Paroxysmal Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have supraventricular tachycardia. This medicine has done nothing to reduce my palpitations. My dose was originally 2.5 mg, then 5 mg, then 10 mg. Now 20 mg. Nothing has changed,.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justme | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2018
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HIVES, HIVES, HIVES. My mouth swole, my hands and feet itched to the high heavens and my doctor ignored it all. I took myself off and on no longer itching (or seeing that doctor).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ralph | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/10/2018
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on inderal,porpanol,and valium for some 30 year's this mixture has helped alot. I just think there should be something else instead of increasing the mg. every 10yrs. or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Viv2 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/3/2018
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

41 yr old female with an essential tremor since birth that had been worsening with age, history of terrible migraines that could last up to a week, occasional irregular heartbeat, and PTSD with an increasing number of anxiety attacks. Been taking propanolol for almost 2yrs now. At first I experienced a lot of nausea and trouble sleeping when taking 20mg 3x a day. Dr. then put me on the time release capsule. I get nauseous about an hour after taking it but all in all it is worth it to me because I rarely have migraines now, I only shake from my tremor now if I forget to take my daily pill and my ptsd and anxiety attacks have also improved immensely. I feel normal again for the first time in a really long time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sheila | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this drug due to previous problems with Lisinopril and allergy to Amlodipine. Started 3 weeks after allergy to Amlodipine. Only used 6 days. Did not affect BP much. Nerve pain. Lump in throat. Breakout of red rash all over body. Took myself off it. Extreme dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having awful side affects tired all the time,relentless muscle pain,feeling really out 9of it,unable to drive due to all this .Be glad when its over .only been on for less than 4 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rayg5102 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male, 64. Migraines for many years. Been on this medicine 3 months. Zero headaches, but constantly tired, zero energy and always a sore throat. Dr is switching to Topamax. Will see where this goes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leann | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had ET for about 10 years. I worked up from 20mg twice daily to 80mg ER in the evening. It helped with the tremors but they did not go away. I gained about 5# and I could not shake a cough which I attributed to the drug and which quit after I stopped the drug. I am currently not taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/3/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Inderal 60mg. (started with 80mg) for 24 years for migraines. If I missed a day of meds, I'd get a headache;but now at 65, I notice I can go a few days without the Inderal and no migraines. I'm thinking of tapering off or at least lowering the dose since my blood pressure is fine and headaches are less. I never had any problems with it except feeling tired. I always took it at night but with sleep apnea, I understand it's better to take in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Farm _Girl69 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/3/2017
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had ET since I was a very young child. I have been on a variety of blood pressure and epilepsy medications over the years to control my hand tremors. I am presently on Propanolol Extended Release 80mg 2x a day. It controls my tremors to the point that sometimes I forget I have tremors. But the side effects are the worst: no sex drive, numbness in one hand that seems very similar to carpal tunnel, cold, tired all the time,feeling sleepy during the day. I have seen the neurologist on several occasions and even looked into deep brain stimulation. What are my options?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2017
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having palpitations every single day from the afternoon up until I would fall asleep. This occurred for approx 4 months. It was becoming so severe that it distracted me from my work and caused anxiety, which made my palpitations even worse. I was prescribed propranolol, 10 mg once a day, which didn't seem to do much. When I was switched to 10 mg, 3 times a day, it worked wonders. I was no longer experiencing palpitations. Over the past month and a half, I only experienced palpitations twice on separate occasions for approx 5 mins at the most. It did take a few weeks to actually kick in, so be patient! Don't stop taking it just because you aren't immediately seeing any change. The wait was definitely worth itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffered with severe migraines my entire life. Was getting 2-3 per week and was desperate. My blood pressure was also a bit high so doctor put me on 60 mg daily, taken at bedtime. Was a little tired at first but that tapered off. Did help with migraines, only getting maybe once a week now! Also having weird dreams and gaining weight (15 lbs. so far) but it's worth it not to be in pain all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More