Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I am having horrible mood swings, my husband has even commented. My stomach has been painful as well.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medicine definitely helps but get pregnant but it makes you so so depressed. i have to start something new

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is hands down the best pill I’ve ever taken. A few years ago my insurance stopped covering the pill I’d been on for 3 years so I had to switch. I tried a couple pills that made me extremely moody and have severe cystic acne. I was finally put on this pill and I will never look back. It’s shortened my periods from 9 days to just 5-6. My mood is great. This pill has been the best!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jules | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control worked for me even when I didn't take it perfectly and missed a few pills/took a few late. But I've never felt as depressed and anxious in my life. Before this pill I had experienced some depression before, but on this pill I cry every other day, have anxiety and panic attacks, and feel crazy. I took this pill for four months, the first week I had a slight depressive episode, then everything seemed fine for a month, and in the last 3 months my mental health got worse and worse. I couldn't last more than the fourth month and switched pills- I'm feeling much better and I've only been off this pill for about a week. It's effective, but might be bad if you have a history of mental illness/depression. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gift | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this drugs for one year now and it has been wow, it corrected my period it even killed the smelling infections I was having.i love this drugs is the best,I meet my husband anytime Sunday and it helped me to control birth. I take it every 9 pm everyday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cvw0602 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good for preventing pregnancy, terrible for mental health. This birth control made me feel numb, but also hate the world. It made me so angry and so miserable. You want deep depression? Take this birth control. Another terrible side effect: absolutely NO libido. I went on this after experiencing some hormonal issues with a previous one month birth control and for my PMS symptoms. It worked for awhile, but I’ve been on it for about a year and a half and around the 6 month mark is when it made me feel terrible. I’ve been on birth control for three years total and I never put two and two together because the medical world hates women and birth control. I also got put on birth control to help my painful and irregular periods. It helped with the pain, but I spot constantly and my periods are completely even more erratic. AVOID this. When I tell you it made me have no emotions other than anger, I mean it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kallea Odell | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve never had panic attacks before getting this from the pharmacy. I have bad panic attacks, headaches, dizziness and sick. Im not taking any other medicine or pills just this birth control and I feel like I’m dying and it’s so scary. This is pure hell and I’ve been on birth control for 2 years but this is the worse. I’ve already called the pharmacy and asked them to find me something right away it’s that bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 18 year-old daughter was given this medication to help with her PMS symptoms and control her period which was starting every 3 weeks. After 2 weeks on the pill, she became severely depressed, crying a lot, highly anxious and had irrational thoughts. At first, we thought she was just going through something but after 6 weeks I was desperate to get her help. We had seen a psychiatrist and therapist but nothing helped. I started researching side effects of this medication and found the reviews on this page, many of which described what my daughter was going through. I'm posting now to try to help others who may be experiencing the same severe side effects. It has has truly been a nightmare that I do not wish upon anyone. I realize that this pill has helped others but it should come with a warning on the front of the box in big red letters - COULD CAUSE SEVERE DEPRESSION!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WW | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for about 3/4 years after being on the depo for about 5/6 years. I have had no problems with it. Before getting on it I had really bad mood swings the week before,the week of,and after my cycle. I now have a cycle every 13 weeks and its only 2-4 days of very light bleeding. I have taken pills before, but after my first child switched to the shot (never again even if my life depended on it). This is the best pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily1910 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this birth control for about a month. I was on Amethyst, and it was horrible. I bleed non stop. I started taking this pill and it stopped the bleeding. I have noticed some period like cramps, and at one point I thought I was bleeding but it was just clear discharge. I use this pill because I have heavy painful periods. So far its been really good to me. If anything changes I will update this. I have tried about five different birth control brands. It's expensive bc I pay out of pocket, but it's worth it if things remain the same.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/14/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this birth control has caused me so much pain!! it made me depressed, lose my hair, gain weight, panic attacks, extremely low sex drive, and has almost ruined my relationship!! i was on this for about a year and i’m switching off of it and never going back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BOBOH | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/14/2019
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it made me sick bad it did good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/15/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this because my periods were very unpredictable and painful, and this has completely taken care of this. I can expect exactly when my period will start, and I have little to no cramps anymore. My bleeding lightened, and so has my acne as an added bonus. I cannot speak for the pregnancy prevention, as I do not use it for that. This is the first form of birth control that I have tried, and have had no bad side affects other than having to remember when to take the pill! Beginning this prescription is one of the best things I have ever done.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/19/2019
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill since 2007 when diagnosed with premenstrual dysphoric disorder aka severe PMS. It's been a miracle. Healed all my symptoms. I love it. I have been taking it for 12 years since I was 19 yrs old. If I miss 4 days the PMDD returns but I rarely miss days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frnkakioph | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So much better than other oral contraceptives I have tried. Literally no side effects, and improved mood and lighter/ less painful periods

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nichole s | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is THE single-most shitty birth control I have ever been on. When I went in to get a prescription, I specified to my doctor that I was looking for a combination pill, as I have been on combination birth control pills before with little to no side effects, and they reduced my cramps as well. But this actual demon pill, this progestin-only abomination, I gave it a chance. Now I regret everything. Firstly, it made my boobs hurt. But that's not too bad, right? No but it also gave me painful cystic acne, oily skin, and blackheads despite my best efforts to battle it with my skin care routine and adding face masks in as well. But wait, there's more! This Hell Pill made me indescribably angry. Have you ever had PMS-related mood swings? Well multiply that x200, and have it every day of every month. Sound fun yet? Well if you don't have PMS and would like to try it out, Levonor may be right for you! A brief description of what Levonor can do for you: You will suddenly want to fistfight every stranger who glances at you funny. You will cry about nothing while driving home. You will set your own house on fire and then stab the poor innocent volunteer firefighter three times in the chest after he was just trying to save your cat. You will attend that firefighter's funeral and stab his entire family. And then you will laugh about it, go see the new Avengers movie, and suddenly gain 20 pounds for no reason because Levonor almost certainly wants you miserable, in federal prison, dead, or all of the above simultaneously. In conclusion, Levonor should be illegal and if your doctor prescribes it to you, kill that dumbass and find a new doctor. Which shouldn't be too hard for you to do after this birth control has turned you into a hardened criminal. TLDR: do NOT take Levonor, even if you are being held at gunpoint. Go get yourself a competent doctor and flush these fuckers down the toilet before it's too late.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thispillisok | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/8/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for 9 months now. This drug does what you want it to do most: prevent pregnancy. However, up until month #6, I was vomiting, getting nausea, and getting weird spiky feelings all over my body every single time I took my active pills. It sucked. Yes, I took them after eating too at night. I am going to get a new brand as soon as my current subscription runs out. You still get your periods on this pill too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this birth control for about two weeks now after having my daughter 6 months ago. I�ve experienced light bleeding, nausea, horrible cramps, migraines, I feel like I�m on fire, in extremely moody (more than usual lol) I don�t know if I just need to get used to it or not but it seems as if others are having this same problem. I hate finding new medications and trying them when I don�t even know how they will effect my body. Hoping these side effects subside .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mbrown | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Orsythia for almost a year now, when my pharmacy ran out (actually, they told me that it had been discontinued, but I won't get started on that). So the pharmacy gave me Levonorgestrel-ethinyl Estradiol and told me multiple times that it was the exact same thing as Orsythia. Within the first week I was vomiting, had extreme mood swings and persistent migraines. I'm now halfway through week 3 and I can add to my list of horrible side effects, darkening of urine...which is resulting in UTI's. I use to get UTI's and migraines often until being on Orsythia, so you can imagine my shock when I haven't even been on this birth control for a month and I'm having these side effects. My pharmacy restocked on my actual birth control, but told me I needed to finish this pack first before going back to Orsythia. So I will be switching back in a week and a half and can't wait! If you are on Orsythia and a pharmacy tells you they are out of yours and tries to switch you to Levonorgestrel-ethinyl Estradiol, I highly recommend trying a different pharmacy to see if they have yours!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
courtneyrowley | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is very easy to handle. A simple swallow without any water and you can barely taste it! however, the past day or two I've experienced terrible nausea and bloating. I am praying that it goes away because I can't stand dealing with feeling like I am going to vomit. Either that or I am somehow pregnant! LOL but other than that, its a pretty good birth control pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pinkroses | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for a little under 3 months. The last few weeks I have been experiencing heavy cramping and bleeding (and it isn't supposed to give you a period for a year). I'm trying to wait it out to see if it will get better since I know spotting can be common but this is getting ridiculous..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More