Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I am having horrible mood swings, my husband has even commented. My stomach has been painful as well.

Shared reviews and ratings

Annonomus12 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With this birth control I felt depress, I get anxiety and this sudden fear for my life & as though something is wrong with me , my body felt horrible and don't get me started on the headaches it was painful and I got them everyday. This isn't good for your mental or physical health . It did help my period to stop and i didn't experience any náusea but that must have been the only good thing about this tablet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natasha | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decided to go on birth control because I hear that it would help with my PCOS and very painful periods where I could not do or eat anything for the first three days. The first month was rough, I was crying everyday and was angry with everyone around me, felt like the whole world was against me. The second month was the one to really kick my butt though. I started getting panic attacks almost daily, my anxiety was through the roof, I was sobbing uncontrollably for hours and became extremely depressed. I’m a pretty anxious person in general but it was always manageable, i would never shut down but this just heightened the effects like crazy. It helped with my cramps and heavy periods but honestly I’d take the cramps and heavy periods over the constant sense of doom and feeling like there’s nothing good left for me in my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on this for peri menopause. I take it consistently without stopping, ever. I’ve been on so many bc pills throughout my life, and this pill has worked for me. I do not have breakthrough bleeding. My mood has not gotten worse. I only wish it helped clear my skin since I have hormonal acne, but the bc pill the doctor suggested seems to have horrible side effects. I’ll probably stay on this one through menopause. I’m 53 if that helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly H | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this not too long ago but it made me SO moody. I get so angry and impatient. I don’t know how well this will work out but the pills are really good with my acne and they’re small so you don’t need to take them with a drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into my gyno with a lump in my breast, and after the confirmation of the lump, (Next day confirmed non cancerous). I brought up how painful my periods are and that they last up to 2 weeks and sometimes longer with stops and starts randomly and no consistency to starting or ending. I then scheduled an actual gyno appointment, but she prescribed me this medication to see if it will help with the symptoms. I agreed to this, she warned me before taking the medication that if I have a mood disorder or multiple this can intensify those symptoms. She also said that all birth control can do this. I also did an extreme amount of research after being prescribed. I started the medication the Sunday after my period started as it stated in the direction provided to you about the medication. I do have multiple mood disorders with which I am currently going untreated due to personal option. I choose to cope and help my symptoms medication free typically unless absolutely there is no option. This is not because of what I have been through just of what I have seen. Which I was doing very well with counseling through my college and a support system everyone could wish for. My husband mentioned three days in of the birth control that I had been acting odd. Moody, seemingly uncontrollable mood swings, incredibly recluse. Which where things that had already been there they just intensified due to the medication. These evened out come that weekend. I am now on my second week of the medication, I still experience hot flashes, shortness of breath (most likely from being out of shape), and neausa, along with mild vertigo (possible a lasting symptom of COVID from almost a year ago), I experience twice the amount of fatigue and now have insomnia (insomnia could be cause from untreated ADHD). Although many would like to blame the medication which for some this is a likely case be sure to check with the prescribing doctor. Not every medication is meant for everyone. And like depression/ anxiety/ ocd/ and many others medications it takes time for you body and system to adjust to it. Take that time before you make an informed decision on the way it works. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GirlTyler | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this pill to prevent intense mood swings in between irregular periods. While I was on it, I was convinced my sense of smell changed. For example, I thought my body smell changed! Anyway, it also gave me severe headaches that wouldn't go away. It got so bad, I just quit taking them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharing Input | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/2/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to give this medication 2 months to actually see a progress in of controlling my own cycles. I took my first pill 5 days before my menstrual cycle and spotted for the duration of that first pack (minus the placebo pills which I skip); however, I did not experience pain nor other symptoms like irritation or swelling/bloating so that was good. I went directly into the second pack (1st week) and the spotting is now minimal. Hopefully the spotting will end soon. I also have noticed an increase in appetite, but not sure if it is due to this medication. Hope this helps someone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this really recently and I’m having cramps and I don’t have many discharge. It’s my first time using birth control. This pill has made me really anxious about my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ava |
1/14/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started birth control for the first time and was so scared for the symptoms. I used this originally to prevent pregnancy and was afraid my PMDD symptoms would get worse. however, it helped SO much. I was MUCH less moody and depressed. i will continue this birth control whether i’m sexually active or not. i’ve experienced very little symptoms.. the first time I took it the next morning I woke up with extreme morning sickness and within the first week would get some stomach pains or nausea. After that, i was perfectly fine and only got some breakthrough bleeding on the last couple days of my active pills. When I got on my placebo week, my period was a lot lighter and I only had slight cramps. my moodiness started to come back but I’m not really comfortable skipping my period right now. So far, I’m very happy!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/27/2021
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for just 5 days. The second day I experienced serious vertigo (dizziness), it felt like I was drunk all the time. Aggressive mood swings was the order of the day. Crying over what felt like I was losing the ability to be myself. I couldn't even enjoy a walk around the lake without holding onto my husband arm for support. If I looked up, down or sideways I felt like I was going to fall over. Shortness of breath would follow with being afraid of goodness knows what...server anxiety and weeping. I feel like a nut case. Serve hot flushes more than before. Insomnia is also something new that I had to deal with. Hope this helps others. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/15/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control stopped my constant period cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my second week of this birth control. I have not been on birth control since 2018. I took a break from it for 3 years since I was not sexually active at that time. The first symptoms I have noticed since I started taking this birth control was the extreme nipple soreness and breast tenderness. My nipples have been so sensitive that when I touch them, they hurt. It seems to come and go but I'm hoping it goes away as my body adjusts to these pills. I have even skipped 1 day or 2 and I haven't seen any spotting but I do notice more discharge on my underwear since taking this pill. So far so good!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medicine definitely helps but get pregnant but it makes you so so depressed. i have to start something new

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is hands down the best pill I’ve ever taken. A few years ago my insurance stopped covering the pill I’d been on for 3 years so I had to switch. I tried a couple pills that made me extremely moody and have severe cystic acne. I was finally put on this pill and I will never look back. It’s shortened my periods from 9 days to just 5-6. My mood is great. This pill has been the best!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jules | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control worked for me even when I didn't take it perfectly and missed a few pills/took a few late. But I've never felt as depressed and anxious in my life. Before this pill I had experienced some depression before, but on this pill I cry every other day, have anxiety and panic attacks, and feel crazy. I took this pill for four months, the first week I had a slight depressive episode, then everything seemed fine for a month, and in the last 3 months my mental health got worse and worse. I couldn't last more than the fourth month and switched pills- I'm feeling much better and I've only been off this pill for about a week. It's effective, but might be bad if you have a history of mental illness/depression. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gift | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this drugs for one year now and it has been wow, it corrected my period it even killed the smelling infections I was having.i love this drugs is the best,I meet my husband anytime Sunday and it helped me to control birth. I take it every 9 pm everyday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cvw0602 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good for preventing pregnancy, terrible for mental health. This birth control made me feel numb, but also hate the world. It made me so angry and so miserable. You want deep depression? Take this birth control. Another terrible side effect: absolutely NO libido. I went on this after experiencing some hormonal issues with a previous one month birth control and for my PMS symptoms. It worked for awhile, but I’ve been on it for about a year and a half and around the 6 month mark is when it made me feel terrible. I’ve been on birth control for three years total and I never put two and two together because the medical world hates women and birth control. I also got put on birth control to help my painful and irregular periods. It helped with the pain, but I spot constantly and my periods are completely even more erratic. AVOID this. When I tell you it made me have no emotions other than anger, I mean it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kallea Odell | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve never had panic attacks before getting this from the pharmacy. I have bad panic attacks, headaches, dizziness and sick. Im not taking any other medicine or pills just this birth control and I feel like I’m dying and it’s so scary. This is pure hell and I’ve been on birth control for 2 years but this is the worse. I’ve already called the pharmacy and asked them to find me something right away it’s that bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 18 year-old daughter was given this medication to help with her PMS symptoms and control her period which was starting every 3 weeks. After 2 weeks on the pill, she became severely depressed, crying a lot, highly anxious and had irrational thoughts. At first, we thought she was just going through something but after 6 weeks I was desperate to get her help. We had seen a psychiatrist and therapist but nothing helped. I started researching side effects of this medication and found the reviews on this page, many of which described what my daughter was going through. I'm posting now to try to help others who may be experiencing the same severe side effects. It has has truly been a nightmare that I do not wish upon anyone. I realize that this pill has helped others but it should come with a warning on the front of the box in big red letters - COULD CAUSE SEVERE DEPRESSION!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WW | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for about 3/4 years after being on the depo for about 5/6 years. I have had no problems with it. Before getting on it I had really bad mood swings the week before,the week of,and after my cycle. I now have a cycle every 13 weeks and its only 2-4 days of very light bleeding. I have taken pills before, but after my first child switched to the shot (never again even if my life depended on it). This is the best pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More