Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

Thank God for such an effective treatment. It make a night and day difference. I am almost normal.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Took this and gained 35 pounds in two months. Lost sleep have not been able to go out in public due to this medicine making my ocd worse, also it made me give up on college.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely has saved my life! My obsessive thinking was off the charts and was robbing me of my life and my relationships. This medication has made all the difference in the world to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on a 50 mg dosage and took that for the first year (2020). It helped tremendously with my anxiety and I reached a point in early 2021 where for about 2 1/2 months I felt as happy as I was as a young child. I was actually quite hopeful for the future and I felt fantastic. Later in the year I noticed some negative symptoms return and so I went up to 100mg then 120 mg and then back down to 100mg again. At 120 I was a zombie, a lot like my experience with Prozac. Now I am taking 100 and i haven’t slept well in months. I stay awake until 2-3am. I have gained 18 pounds over the last 3 months. I briefly took antipsychotics I was prescribed for the insomnia which worked fine until it made me have the compulsive desire to pace in my room at 4am, I think it was restless legs syndrome as a side effect. All of my negative symptoms have returned in my 3rd year of taking it and I now have out of control OCD symptoms that were manageable before. It worked so well for the first 1 1/2 years but I now feel terrible all the time and will be getting off this as soon as possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jade | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has by far been the easiest antidepressant to take considering side effects. The side effect that is causing me to decide to get off of it is the continued dissociation. I really do not feel present at any moment or time so that really sucks when you're trying to spend quality time with your girlfriend or son. I will say it might make you gain weight but as far as I know I started taking the medicine when I began eating bad, I started eating healthy again and I seem to be responsive to it. Say GOODBYE to your libido, and HELLO to occasional night sweats. I was nauseas and had very low appetite when first starting this medication. I'm being switched to a different drug class, effexor, so wish me luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
julia | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great for my OCD, but makes me constantly tired and lowers libido

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2020
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on Luvox for OCD, PTSD & Panic attacks. It seems to help some but the side effects have me looking for something else. I'm a wheelchair user with poor circulation so I normally stay cold. Now I'm clammy and hot all the time and my muscles are so stiff. These side effects outweigh the benefits

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking20 years very satisfied downside insomnia is bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/23/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Luvox for 270 days. It's been good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/17/2017
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to have panic attacks, obsessing thoughts, and anxiety. And now with luvox I have very slim to none of these feelings! Of course it did take about 3 weeks for everything to equel out like any new medication, but I would highly recommend this! I have now been taking luvox for 5 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PTSD gal | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2016
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a survivor of Domestic Violence. I started taking this medication about a little over 2 weeks ago to help cope with my anxiety, severe depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George Zepoott | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2016
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this and gained 35 pounds in two months. Lost sleep have not been able to go out in public due to this medicine making my ocd worse, also it made me give up on college.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
funtime | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was one of the worse medication I ever used. It's made me forget 'What day is it.' I felt I was a Zombie, I had no interest in anything other than I can't wait it to wear off. (This was only the third I told it.! I tryed to stick with it, but I could'nt take the side effects. The Doctor put me on Cymbalta, and I never wanted to look back. I also currently Take:Latuda, and Lamictal. The combo works just great. I never want to switch again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cmk | 35-44 | Female | Patient
10/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a doctor prescribe Luvox for me for smoking. It was the worst thing in the world. It didn't help with smoking and, it made me paranoid and, unable to think or function. I don't know if it was a allergic reaction or what but I discontinued use after about a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandy k | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/2/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i experienced obsessive thoughts all my life til i started taking luvox.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/18/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Luvox for 2 years. It took about 4 months for me to see the full effect. Don't know where I would be without it. Not cured but it is manageable and I have a life to live.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for my depression. Takes awhile to get dosage right. Have taken for several years, worst side effect is insomnia. OCD is always with you--this med takes the edge off. You have to be strong and stop letting your mind torment you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scary medicine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frightening side effects. I literally have taken one dose and within a few hours had a pounding heart rate, sweating, dizziness, disoriented and racing thoughts. Have never experienced such before in my life. I will never take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mala | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking almost the maximum dose of 300mgs per day (250MGS). I take 100mg in the a.m., 50mg six hours later, and the last 100mgs in th p.m. It has been a miracle drug for me. My doctor gradually increased my dosage as I needed it over the last year, along with regular counseling and medication updating. She also has me on 1mg Ativan in the a.m. and at bedtime, along with a mild muscle relaxor at bedtime for muscle tension and pain from my FM and ARD. So I do not have problems sleeping anymore. It took about 5 weeks for the meds to get into my system, balance my seratonin and really do their job...but the Luvox almost immediately stopped the repetitious thoughts and behavior. I am just thankful that I can live a somewhat "normal life" and can do daily activities when my other health issues allow. My hands are no longer chapped and bleeding from the constant washing and I learned in counseling how to "chain my brain" and be aware of my thoughts and how to change my mind, literally. I could not do this without the meds. I hope that others can have the same results as I have, but PLEASE if you are having ANY side effects tell your Physician at once. Medicaions are never a "one size fits all" I have felt like a lab rat at times over the last 30 years, but thank God I found a Physician, a course of therapy and meds that finally work for me. This last year, even with some family drama and grave illnessess it has been the best year of my life. (And that is saying a lot for someone in their 50's.) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dst | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr. started me on 100 mlg of this medication to start. We then moved it up to 150 mlg. I have been having extreme muscle aches in my legs, knees, arms, and hips. I want to sleep during the day but cant seem to get to sleep at night. Anyone else having the pains from this medication?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Biff50 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am prescribed 100mg of fluvoxamine extended release to help with my social anxiety and obsessive thoughts. I initially took it at night, but after a week of averaging 4 hours of sleep a night, I started taking it in the mornings. I still have disrupted sleep, but now i can stay sleeping for about 5 or 6 hours before I wake up , tossing and turning and have racing thoughts of everything. The OCD has increased during that time, but anxiety and OCD is much better throughout the day. I am more outgoing and don't dread normal daily activities, like I used to. My main complaint is the disruptive sleep. It has been a month and a half since I started taking this and I'm really hoping my sleep gets back to normal. I never had issues sleeping before. Will have to discontinue if this persists. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fosslacey | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

doesn'thelpwithocdsymptoms also,feelingweaknessinlegsandeveninabilitytostandforprolongedperiodoftime

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More