Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

Thank God for such an effective treatment. It make a night and day difference. I am almost normal.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Took this and gained 35 pounds in two months. Lost sleep have not been able to go out in public due to this medicine making my ocd worse, also it made me give up on college.

Shared reviews and ratings

Luvoxfan | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
10/1/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this medication for 9 months now. I was first prescribed it after a mental health crisis. I am currently take 250mg of Luvox along with Wellbutrin 100mg and Trazodone 50mg. Side effects are dry mouth and insomnia but I also had both of these conditions on past medications (Abilify, Lamictal, Prozac, Seroquel, Lexapro, and Mirtazapine among others). My panic symptoms are almost gone. I’ve gained about 10 pounds but I have an appetite now so that is an improvement. I also have discontinued both Adderall and Klonopin use because I feel much better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fluvoxamine 50 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out after the first nighttime dose of only 50 mg. Had terrible headaches & nausea for 2 full wks. after that I thought things were on the upside. I realized even though I seemed more depressed than ever. My night terrors were gone!I have PTSD. So decided to keep taking it & it was so gradual I didn’t notice that my anxiety along with depression was getting worse. Then although no more night terrors & always had weird dreams but not bothersome. I started having dreams that were very intrusive & bothered me having them. Then noticed that when I took my Ativan. It was like it barely worked or was like taking a placebo. Didn’t help at all! Thought just give it time . It takes a while to get to feeling better. The 4th. Wk. & my appointment to see my Dr. I woke up throwing up & diareah & so exausted I couldn’t make my appointment. This lasted almost 3 days & had no desire to eat at all. I thought! A virus should only last 24 hrs. But stopped altogether on 3 Dr. day but stayed exausted. More like lethargic, was becoming irritated & agitated & developed a cough that was quite continuous even when I didn’t smoke! Realized I went 3 days without eating & only drinking a half cup of coffee & not even water. Nothing else in 3 days. Was dwelling on suicide all day & never did that. Crying all day & seen no hope left . That it would be best for my family if I just died. Didn’t realize or couldn’t think straight for anything to say hey! Your Genetic Luvox is causing more & more bad side effects. It’s not you . It has to be this medication. So after being off of it, not smoking for 3 days. But also not eating & drinking another 3 days. I caught myself laughing & feeling amazed because it had been so song that I laughed or even smiled. Well, started taking the Luvox again thinking maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance. Nausea, headaches extremely high anxiety , hopelessness , thinking of suicide again, insomnia , horrible bothersome dreams were all immediately back! I decided it had to be the medication & it’s only created different bad side effects all along! I’ve only been off a few days again now. But still experiencing some bad side effects. I’m hoping within a wk. will be done with all of those! My anxiety is so bad even with 2 milligrams of Ativan twice a day. It’s like I’m stuck. If I get up moving around my anxiety increases instead of getting better. So depressed by not being able to do anything but sit still . I cry all the time & easy! If someone barely snaps at me! My anxiety goes into panic & can’t stop crying! I regret ever trying this medication. I read a review a man wrote that was quite similar to mine. He said after stopping it in less than a month. He said it took a full wk. to stop having all bad side effects! I’m hangin on & praying they will all be gone for me. Hopefully no withdrawals that I hear that are so horrible after stopping it because I hadn’t been on it long & at a low dose! I know what they are talking about though! I never had any problem stopping an antidepressant before. If I had taken the highest dose for so long & usually little to no improvement. I’d just stop & that would be that! But once had been put in Cymbalta & took it for about a yr. at the highest recommend dosage but why take any medication if it’s not working or barely working enough to tell. But the withdrawals I had was like I had quit the worst street drug in the world! I didn’t know what the hell was going on! I went a whole month! With side effects of the devil let me tell you! Went to the Dr. Ran test & nothing wrong! But found a forum. Well, actually my husband said come here. Everyone that was on this forum was explaining the exact same miserable withdrawals from stopping Cymbalta cold turkey! It took months to get better. Be careful with withdrawals from some of these antidepressants! Most horrible! I think I’m gonna stay away from antidepressants all together. Either make me way worse or don’t do anything or do so little itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely has saved my life! My obsessive thinking was off the charts and was robbing me of my life and my relationships. This medication has made all the difference in the world to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on a 50 mg dosage and took that for the first year (2020). It helped tremendously with my anxiety and I reached a point in early 2021 where for about 2 1/2 months I felt as happy as I was as a young child. I was actually quite hopeful for the future and I felt fantastic. Later in the year I noticed some negative symptoms return and so I went up to 100mg then 120 mg and then back down to 100mg again. At 120 I was a zombie, a lot like my experience with Prozac. Now I am taking 100 and i haven’t slept well in months. I stay awake until 2-3am. I have gained 18 pounds over the last 3 months. I briefly took antipsychotics I was prescribed for the insomnia which worked fine until it made me have the compulsive desire to pace in my room at 4am, I think it was restless legs syndrome as a side effect. All of my negative symptoms have returned in my 3rd year of taking it and I now have out of control OCD symptoms that were manageable before. It worked so well for the first 1 1/2 years but I now feel terrible all the time and will be getting off this as soon as possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jade | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has by far been the easiest antidepressant to take considering side effects. The side effect that is causing me to decide to get off of it is the continued dissociation. I really do not feel present at any moment or time so that really sucks when you're trying to spend quality time with your girlfriend or son. I will say it might make you gain weight but as far as I know I started taking the medicine when I began eating bad, I started eating healthy again and I seem to be responsive to it. Say GOODBYE to your libido, and HELLO to occasional night sweats. I was nauseas and had very low appetite when first starting this medication. I'm being switched to a different drug class, effexor, so wish me luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
julia | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great for my OCD, but makes me constantly tired and lowers libido

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2020
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on Luvox for OCD, PTSD & Panic attacks. It seems to help some but the side effects have me looking for something else. I'm a wheelchair user with poor circulation so I normally stay cold. Now I'm clammy and hot all the time and my muscles are so stiff. These side effects outweigh the benefits

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking20 years very satisfied downside insomnia is bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/23/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Luvox for 270 days. It's been good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/17/2017
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to have panic attacks, obsessing thoughts, and anxiety. And now with luvox I have very slim to none of these feelings! Of course it did take about 3 weeks for everything to equel out like any new medication, but I would highly recommend this! I have now been taking luvox for 5 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PTSD gal | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2016
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a survivor of Domestic Violence. I started taking this medication about a little over 2 weeks ago to help cope with my anxiety, severe depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George Zepoott | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2016
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this and gained 35 pounds in two months. Lost sleep have not been able to go out in public due to this medicine making my ocd worse, also it made me give up on college.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
funtime | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was one of the worse medication I ever used. It's made me forget 'What day is it.' I felt I was a Zombie, I had no interest in anything other than I can't wait it to wear off. (This was only the third I told it.! I tryed to stick with it, but I could'nt take the side effects. The Doctor put me on Cymbalta, and I never wanted to look back. I also currently Take:Latuda, and Lamictal. The combo works just great. I never want to switch again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cmk | 35-44 | Female | Patient
10/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a doctor prescribe Luvox for me for smoking. It was the worst thing in the world. It didn't help with smoking and, it made me paranoid and, unable to think or function. I don't know if it was a allergic reaction or what but I discontinued use after about a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandy k | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/2/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i experienced obsessive thoughts all my life til i started taking luvox.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/18/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Luvox for 2 years. It took about 4 months for me to see the full effect. Don't know where I would be without it. Not cured but it is manageable and I have a life to live.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for my depression. Takes awhile to get dosage right. Have taken for several years, worst side effect is insomnia. OCD is always with you--this med takes the edge off. You have to be strong and stop letting your mind torment you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scary medicine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frightening side effects. I literally have taken one dose and within a few hours had a pounding heart rate, sweating, dizziness, disoriented and racing thoughts. Have never experienced such before in my life. I will never take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mala | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking almost the maximum dose of 300mgs per day (250MGS). I take 100mg in the a.m., 50mg six hours later, and the last 100mgs in th p.m. It has been a miracle drug for me. My doctor gradually increased my dosage as I needed it over the last year, along with regular counseling and medication updating. She also has me on 1mg Ativan in the a.m. and at bedtime, along with a mild muscle relaxor at bedtime for muscle tension and pain from my FM and ARD. So I do not have problems sleeping anymore. It took about 5 weeks for the meds to get into my system, balance my seratonin and really do their job...but the Luvox almost immediately stopped the repetitious thoughts and behavior. I am just thankful that I can live a somewhat "normal life" and can do daily activities when my other health issues allow. My hands are no longer chapped and bleeding from the constant washing and I learned in counseling how to "chain my brain" and be aware of my thoughts and how to change my mind, literally. I could not do this without the meds. I hope that others can have the same results as I have, but PLEASE if you are having ANY side effects tell your Physician at once. Medicaions are never a "one size fits all" I have felt like a lab rat at times over the last 30 years, but thank God I found a Physician, a course of therapy and meds that finally work for me. This last year, even with some family drama and grave illnessess it has been the best year of my life. (And that is saying a lot for someone in their 50's.) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dst | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr. started me on 100 mlg of this medication to start. We then moved it up to 150 mlg. I have been having extreme muscle aches in my legs, knees, arms, and hips. I want to sleep during the day but cant seem to get to sleep at night. Anyone else having the pains from this medication?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More