Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking this for two years. I have arthritis, bursitis, tendinitis, and a small bone chip floating around in my left shoulder. Before taking this stuff, I'd wake up with such pain in and around my shoulder that emanated around my back, up the side of my neck, around the front of my shoulder/chest, and left me with a pounding headache to boot. I have been nearly pain-free since taking t...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

WARNING IF YOU ARE BIPOLAR DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG!I took 1 10mg pill.And in about an hour I had stomach cramps so bad i could hardly stand up.I was crying off and on and could not stop.I have been dealing with it for more than 20 years.And I am very stable. Untill I took just one 10mg pill!!I could not believe what was hapening.Please be careful taking this drug. Did NOTHING for pain!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2019
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crealla | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe back pain on left side that has radiated down thru my hip to my upper left thigh. At times the thigh has been more painful and we can actually observe the spasms in the leg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2017
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 46 and have osteoarthritis in both hips. I'm trying to wait on hip replacements but in the meantime, I want to continue to be active without pain that keeps me up at night. I've been on Piroxicam for 30 days now and have noticed my usual joint inflammation has decreased significantly. I still have pain and stiffness but not like before. I've lost weight on this drug because I can be more active. The only side-effect seems to be higher blood pressure. For now, I'm staying on this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GaryL | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Podiatrist prescribed this last Summer for relief from a heel spur, after all else failed. I took it for a couple of weeks while doing PT, and things improved greatly. I could not be sure if it was the drug or the PT that helped at that time. Recently the heel pain returned and I was also having a lot of hip, lower back, and knee pain from extended walking activities. I still had some of these pills left, so I started talking them a couple of days ago. The pain relief was almost immediate. Walking yesterday and today was so much better! Not sure if I will need these long-term, or if I will suffer side effects, but for now, I am very satisfied!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gumby0869 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get more out of taking Aleve than I did this medication. Plus I had to pay a fortune for it. Not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anil | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from Psoriasis since 9 years. It lead to sever joint pain only in certain joints (fingers and wrist) about 2 years. Considering my age (low 40) this is a bit unusual. After trying all sorts of alternate medicines and otc NSAIDs finally saw an arthritis specialist, and he put me on this wonderful drug. Within a few days it made the pain go away and also helped to reduce my psoriatic inflammation of the skin. It's a miracle. It helped me so much that after a couple of weeks I reduced it to every other day, and then to once every 2 days, etc. Now I sparingly take when certain foods or something seem to trigger the inflammation once in every 15 days (not logged, but just he perception). I have quite a few pills left from the first prescription and few refills. So, it has been that effective for me. I also take famotidine (OTC Pepcid AC) to reduce the impact on stomach. My doc said that was a good thing to do. Also, when I started taking famotidine I did not know that it was the H2 blocker. This combination is helping me a lot. I take the famotidine everyday (BJ's bottle) and Piroxicam one time a day for a day or two every few weeks, only when I get the pain in joints due to whatever reason. Hope this helps someone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MakLis | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking for a week for foot swelling and pain instead it gave me pins and needles to foot and swelling remains. Med not effective for me??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TJ | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for over a year now for OA and it helped at first but now I've gained almost 50 lbs. I've talked to my doctor but he didn't seem concerned with my weight gain. I'm also taking a diuretic but I seem to be retaining water also. Am going to another doctor to see if this is the cause. Also have abnormal liver enzymes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
echo210 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
11/13/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 20mg of piroxicam for 3 months. I was taking it daily for first 30 days and gain 9lbs. Doctor told me there will be water retention so in my case he recommended 3x per week. Taking daily it worked great but, on 3x per day it has not been as effective. My knees are bad, especially my left knee, so doctor gave me an injection to my left knee of Methylprednisolone 80mg and it worked wonderful...really wonderful..Currently I am scheduled to get an injection quarterly and, mid 3rd month it has pretty much wore off. See RA Doctor again 11/17/14 Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2014
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain is relieved after short period

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/16/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
buck | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/7/2014
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this prescribed to me for a muscle strain. I felt like it did not help too much with the swelling and I was still in pain. OTC Naproxen Sodium worked better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/7/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for two years. I have arthritis, bursitis, tendinitis, and a small bone chip floating around in my left shoulder. Before taking this stuff, I'd wake up with such pain in and around my shoulder that emanated around my back, up the side of my neck, around the front of my shoulder/chest, and left me with a pounding headache to boot. I have been nearly pain-free since taking this (except if I foolishly overdo activities with my shoulder specifically, such as excessive reaching (painting a ceiling, etc). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tp6 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2013
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Spinal Stenosis and most recent a dull and intermittent pain in my groin area which was very noticeable for about 3-4 weeks before I went to my doctor. He prescribed Piroxicam since I had no luck with Ibuprofin and other over the counter medicines. I have been taking Piroxicam for 1 full week now and have not had any re-occurrences of the pain since taking the drug including the first day of use. It took care of the problem immediately and I am hopefull it will help my lower lumbar back pain too. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mehbohdi | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/10/2013
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have neck trauma, and Piroxicam has helped keep the inflammation down with proper therapy. I only take as needed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2012
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed knowing I was allergic to SULFA medication.....lots of itching within an hour of taking.....also have high blood pressure...2 things that if you have this med should not be prescribed...I guess I need to do my own research....minimal relief of osteoarthritus...not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/26/2012
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was used after another med didn't seem to be working. After taking this drug for a while, it was just as ineffective as the previous drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2012
Condition: Joint Damage causing Pain and Loss of Function
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood preasure is up.....Burning Stomach....still have joint pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More