Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

Prescribed for Pulled muscle/pinched nerve. It knocked me out for a few hours but while easing the stiffness didn't really take the pain away even when taken with OTC ibuprofen.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bavariangirl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2018
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had back issues for years and along with pain and nerve medications I was on Valium to control my muscle spasms. Not perfect but I managed to get through the day. Recently I was told by my doctor that legislation now prohibits dispensing Valium and since then has tried several substitutions for my often severe cramps. Parafon Forte DSC is the third one she has now tried. It is useless in helping with the cramping/muscle spasms. The side effects for me are a very queasy stomach, food is not appetizing, I am very shaky and nervous all day long, along with being hot and down right freezing. I finally stopped taking it. Until I can get in to see my doctor I'm using heat which helps somewhat.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vimike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2013
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has had little effect on my spasms. I had a total rt. hip in 2005, and was given Soma for the spasms I had post op., and was very effective. I had some nerve damage from the hip procedure and have had peripheral neuropathy (in my right foot and ankle) since. I have been taking Lyrica (675 mg a day), and it helps greatly. I have L4 - 5 bulging discs....I am going to ask my doctor to Rx another medication (hopefully Soma or a Rx of similar strength) to replace the Parafon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2013
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amy32 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2012
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive had 2 back surgeries and need a third this medication helps somewhat with the spasms i get but feel like there has to be something stronger to help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/13/2012
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/26/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I reviewed this med last month and see that big pharma must've had it removed. My husband was given this and had to go to ER with stroke-like symptoms and SEVERE HALLUCINATIONS that went on for 3 days!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug helped me quickly. I have had back surgery in 08 but muscle spasms continue to the point I am in constant pain bed ridden most of time. Cannot sleep well as spasms never stop. This is the only real help I have had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/10/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for back pain and I noticed absolutely NOTHING!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
surromom1971 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2010
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a bulging disk in my back & neck...also degenerative disk disease. This has given me complete relief! I sleep better as well. Flexeril had stopped working for me after years of taking it...so I am thankful I discussed that with my doc, & he put me on this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pacco | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2010
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had very strong muscle spasms in my upper back. This medecinf, along with another anti-inflamatory prescription, helped it relax and go away. My mother was prescribed this drug for hip pains. I suspect the dr believed her pain was from muscles not joints. It helps her daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2009
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mmatthew.cora | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/3/2009
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this med. for a bad back;poss.sciatica,but i have felt no relief during movement for the last 2 days. Drug does not seem to help at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mlljuju | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2009
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps with the spasms and helps me relax and sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
12/14/2008
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took parafon forte 10years & more around about in the mid. 80's and did real good for me it, it was my shoulders then & would like to know if i need a prescriptin for it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/11/2008
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE A BACK SURGERY,BUT SOMETIMES WHEN I STAND ON MY FEET FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME I HAVE PAIN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fallenmacleod | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for Pulled muscle/pinched nerve. It knocked me out for a few hours but while easing the stiffness didn't really take the pain away even when taken with OTC ibuprofen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More