Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

At first i felt a lot of warmth in my fingers and legs.. Almost like a flushing but, that went away and now this medication is working just fine! i don't take it to close to bed though because it still causes me to expierence those flushing sensations (only at night) overall i would recomend this medication!!

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Immediate onset of headaches (and I never get headaches), depressing thoughts (again, never a problem for me), anxious, stressful feelings not previously experiencing. Tried to hang in there for 1 month. Things only got worse. Also, hives 6 or 7 times during the month (but I do get hives for no apparent reason, sometimes)

Shared reviews and ratings

bighairstick1 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/9/2020
Condition: Occasional Numbness, Prickling, or Tingling of Fingers and Toes
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it did nothing for my raynauds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cabookie12 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 30MG of XL and my blood pressure still wasn't coming down, so my doctor increased it to 60MG. As soon as I increased, I started experiencing side effects such as "feeling of warmth" throughout my body, but especially my ears and thighs. They felt like they were on fire!! So annoying. Then my feet started to swell up. Switching medications AGAIN.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I taken many different Blood pressure medication and thos has seem to work the must!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
procardia | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

extreme weakness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2013
Condition: Occasional Numbness, Prickling, or Tingling of Fingers and Toes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have tachicardia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed by MD after blood pressure has gone wildly high. After one pill my BP went down but got a roaring headache and feet turned red and swelled up. Can't continue to take it. My Diovan 320 seems to have stopped working for some reason. Taking Clonidine as emergency treatment tho makes me sleepy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betty | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2013
Condition: Angina
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Procardia, I feel, has been a problem with my constant upset,gas and bloated feelings in my stomach, sometimes affecting my bowel movements (the painful effects I feel).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shirley | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/28/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medicine for years, the 30 mg. My blood pressure began to go too high so the Dr. put me on 60 mg. Now I have been having nausea and dizziness after breakfast. I didn't think about it being my bp medicine until I read this article.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/30/2012
Condition: Early Labor
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2011
Condition: Early Labor
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Concerned | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2011
Condition: Early Labor
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into preterm labor with my daughter at 16 weeks. Keep in mind this was 15 years ago. I was given the drug Procardia to stop my labor. I took this until I was close enough to deliver my daughter safely. I have recently been in touch with the FDA and have been told this is a Class C drug and should not be given to pregnant PTs as it can cause birth defects. My daughter was born without a uterus, she has a partial cervix, only one kidney, enlarged optic nerves and hypothyroism. She also suffers from incontinence, AHDH, OCD tendencies, bi-polar, and has impulsivities. While no studies have been done on pregant women this drug has every ability possibly to cause these defects. It has been found in lab specimins to cause toxins in the placentia, amino fluid, and in the fetus. It can even caused the death of the fetus. They again have not been able to study this in pregant women because it is unethical - the words from the FDA - not mine. Please talk with your Dr about the risks of this medicine before taking it. Research it. If I had to take it over again, I would think twice. I had to be the one to tell my daughter she cannot give birth to a child ever. She may eventually go blind from glaucoma. She will be on meds the rest of her life. She will suffer from the embarrassment of incontinence. While yes this drug stopped my labor and I gave birth to her one week late, I feel it also played a role in her birth defects. Please be careful!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DrSal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2011
Condition: Occasional Numbness, Prickling, or Tingling of Fingers and Toes
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donna3boys2002 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Immediate onset of headaches (and I never get headaches), depressing thoughts (again, never a problem for me), anxious, stressful feelings not previously experiencing. Tried to hang in there for 1 month. Things only got worse. Also, hives 6 or 7 times during the month (but I do get hives for no apparent reason, sometimes)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
snobunie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2010
Condition: Early Labor
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was only 7 months pregnant and went into premature labor due to horrible car accident. thankfully for this medication i was able to carry my baby to 38 wks. took the meds 2xs a day for two months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kmart5115 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed allergic lumps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Procardia in February because of reoccuring blood clots in my hands and feet. It worked great, and no more clots, however, during a 3200 mile road trip, I deveoped severe edema in my feet, ankles and calves. The edema would only partly resolve with elevation of my lower extremities. So unfortunately I had to stop taking the 30 mg tablet daily. Since I tend to only get the blood clots in the Winter, I'll have to find an alternate drug to dialate my blood vessels this Fall.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rondacharleston | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2010
Condition: Early Labor
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a still born baby,because of this drug.I was full term and i had a stillborn on Feb 22,2010.My baby died.Katlyn Kiser was her name.My name is Casey Kiser,Her grandmother is Ronda Kiser

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sha | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/18/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking both generics of this drug nifedipine and nifedical XL.I take 30 mgs 2 daily for 1 year. Headaches,pain right arm,pain and stiffness neck and shoulders, pain back,numbness and tingling in feet and tooth and gum problems. Trying brand now,may be better.Very sensitive to meds and ingredients.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nrj | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/26/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall, this medication has helped me manage my blood pressure since being prescribed during my second pregnancy, but the side effects have been unforgiving. I have been taking 90 mg Nifedipine for 6 years now. Since taking this medication I have experienced Tinnitus, poor gum health - which constantly needs treatment, tremors (shakiness), bladder issues, body stiffness, occasional headaches, and some edema. I think long term use of this medication should be discussed with a specialist. I have decided to seek alternatives to this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I became pregnant my physician switched my High blood pressure medicine to Procardia XL as it was safer in pregnancy than the Norvasc and the HCTZ. It worked very well. I took one pill/day. I was able to carry both my girls to over 37 weeks. It has worked so well, that we've decided to continue its use. So, I've gone from two pills to one!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More