Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I get frequent upper respiratory infections and when my coughing interupts my sleep this is the only medicine that is effective at stopping the cough and allows me to rest. It starts working in like 15 minutes and allows for a cough-free night. I would suggest taking it during the day for the first time so you know how you will react to it. You MUST take it with at least one full glass of water or...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Have sinusitis and bronchitis...Tessalon works fairly well for about 4 hrs except it does nothing for my drippy nose and mucous in my throat. After 4 hours (when I take at night) the effectiveness is gone, and I am still wide awake. I wish it would make me drowsy, but it does not! I get to sleep around 3 a.m. I won't be taking it again.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mark | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Garbage. Have tried these several times and they never work. No reduction in coughing at all. I don't know why doctors keep prescribing this junk. The last time I went in for bronchitis, the doctor prescribed this and I didn't even bother getting it filled - didn't feel like wasting my money again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJAtlanta | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I've had a cold with a cough, tessalon perles provided a lot of relief. It controls the coughing so you can get a good night's sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julz | 45-54 | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been coughing for three days and just started doing it all night. I took one of these in the middle of the night in 20 minutes I stopped coughing and was able to sleep. They worked wonders for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/7/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for bad cough. It doesn’t work AT ALL and my cough worsened to the point that I had to go back to the doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momcwoz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2021
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three months post covid, I have been coughing so hard that I am having serious nose bleeds. One day into treatment and I am already coughing less.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/22/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MegTexas | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t work IDC WHAT ANYONE SAYS WASTE OF MONEY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wren | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely useless and ineffective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Itsallrelative | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/5/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a joke it does not work don't waste your time or your money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suziemom | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Useless - Robotussin does a better job - just ask any nurse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2020
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible anxiety, can't sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely worthless medication!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The most worthless medication I’ve ever tried.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hostile79 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These things are a complete joke. I shouldn't have to suffer because the medical field is scared to death to prescribe a narcotic cough med (which actually works) due to junkies getting addicted to oppiates. Some of us would use the med for how it is intended and could really benefit from it. Oh well, such as typical things happening in America these days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paisley | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pneumonia with severe dry cough - these things are terrific. I finally slept more than 1 hour at a time - got 5 hrs because of these, and no more cough-induced vomiting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NurseByDay | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't do a thing for me when I had coughing due to flu-like symptoms. Took these as prescribed for 2 weeks and they were no help at all. I coughed just as much with these as without. I am a nurse, (RN,) and would thoroughly question giving medications like this to my patients, unless they showed a response within a day or two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SP | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken the medication on two occasions for bronchitis. I do not feel any benefit from the meds, my cough remains the same. I would say Robatussin is more effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ivy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An absolute waste of time and money. Kaiser is covering their ass by prescribing something that few people will benefit from in order to avoid prescribing narcotics, of which the medical world is afraid to death. Completely ineffective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rlb | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced no benefit at all. I also experienced no side effects. For me, it was a waste of time and money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Violet | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It isn't very helpful with coughing unless you take more than the recommended dosage, which is not optimal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More