Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

98 People found this comment helpful

I take my dose and wait 20 min. or so until I feel it coming on, then it puts me to sleep very well and quickly. I feel taking it and going right to bed is not as effective as waiting till you feel results, regaurdless of what my doctor says. Don't wait too long to go to bed though, when you feel a little light headed, lay down immediatly. If you wait too long it feels like it is not as effecti...

Most voted negative review

34 People found this comment helpful

This medicine almost killed me yesterday

Shared reviews and ratings

nevinc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have noticed when I needed to take this to help me sleep, normally I am asleep within 5 minutes after taking one. Only use it for falling asleep due to anxiety and not being able to relax and stop thinking. I am pleased with its results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gatorj | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been prescribed 50mg tablet . Works fine UNTIL I wake up and then I cannot fall back to sleep. Many responses do not give the doses and I wonder if taking large dose might help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for about 2.5 years. When I 1st started taking it, I would wake up so refreshed, ready for the day. I think since time has passed, I don't feel so spry in the morning, but the effectiveness of what I take it for is 100%. No side effects that I can think of. Strangely, I did recently notice, if you break one in half in complete darkness, you will see a small spark. Kinda like when you throw pop snappers are concrete.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emma | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 200mg of trazodone everynight for depresssion , anxiety and sleep. I have bpd.I have been taking it for a few years now and have been able to lose alot of weight after switching to trazodone from mirtizipin. I take it roughly 20 mins before bed and it hits me hard every night. I do get a very sick nauseous feeling whenever it first hits me but its over in less than a minute. I just then be really sleepy and I fall asleep fairly quickly. I stay asleep allnight and have bery vivid dreams which I love. Downsides was it really didn't help my anxiety much and my moods were still swinging from one extreme to the next but I now take a low dose of quiapine several times a day also and its really calming me down. It seems to work well with the trazodone no bad side effects as of yet but its only a very low dose for now. Trazodone works great for me for sleep and depression but not for anxiety . I really love this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katherine | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have MDD and struggled to sleep because of it. This med has been very effective in helping me sleep and maybe even with my depression. It’s hard for me to say because I take other meds and don’t remember much about when I started all of them. It’s effective for me in a lot of aspects but I really feel like a shell of myself a lot of the time. Really dazed with a kind of “deer in the headlight” look. I don’t process what people say to me very well and I feel dizzy and weak, nauseous too. I want to stop it. I take 150 mg before bed though and it helps me sleep very, very wellRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MsWheezie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/30/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On October 31, 2020, I lost my mom and my insomnia got out of control, I would stay up for days. I went to my "crazy doctor" and he started me on 50mg. At first it worked and most nights I would get a little sleep. After telling my doctor that it was no longer working, he then but me on 100mg- 150mg each night. Again after taking it for awhile and staying up days on end, he had to adjust my does again. Now I'm taking 300mg a night and I'm having the best sleep, ever. I can take my dose and within 30 minutes, I'm sleep. Right now, Trazodone is working really good for me... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though it did help me fall asleep quickly, it did not help me stay asleep. Just after one dose, I experienced many side effects such as dizziness, headaches, nausea when standing too long and all over body weakness. Still the same at 6pm the next day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lulu | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have terrible insomnia and always searching for something to help me with this. I have tried this several times over the course of a year and did not like the way it made me feel the next day. Also did nothing for my sleep. Thought I would try it again one last time to see if it would be different this time. No. Couldn't sleep and next day I felt like I had a terrible hangover all day. I had no alcohol. So, I do not recommend this at all. I'm glad it works for some people. Still searching, maybe CBD gummies will help?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SleepWell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/14/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can get to sleep, however I wake with severe anxiety, and sorrow. Once I take the medication and practice relaxation, I can easily get back to sleep, and sleep through the remainder of the night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trazadone 50mg | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had sleep issues so my doctor put me on trazadone 50mg and honestly it really hasn't done much for me. I actually am more emotional than ever. Help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
salvia | 13-18 | Nonbinary | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i’ve took 50 mg of this for around a week now. best choice i made so far. i sleep like a baby with rarely any daytime tiredness and i feel happier.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keesl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective in putting me to sleep and I feel like it’s helped form healthy habits as I don’t stay up as late even on nights I don’t take it. Only downside is if I don’t take it and lay down as soon as I get sleepy, I get a little dizzy. Nothing that’s unbearable, just a little annoying. But overall very effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Insomniac-owl | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes dangerous priapism - leading permanent ED degrading tissue sending to ER, numb feelings mental and other. Pain in both testicle. Don't go outside in sunlight with this --drinking water and not sweating. UV hypersensitivity. Brain swelling when drinking water hyponatremia. Leading to stupor and brain cell swelling. Being a shell of yourself. Forgetting normal things. Thinking issues. Doctor didn't warn me. Should have BLack box warning. Please don't take this unless 25 mg or less. Way too potent. Take ssri some thing weaker or quetiapine seroquel for sleep. I know this causes dementia (trazodone). One good effect is it helps with agoraphobia, PTSD but not worth the hassle.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/9/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was originally very helpful for helping me go to sleep as stimulants I took in the morning would keep me up all night. But if I take it and try to do something else, I will have difficulty standing up and start to feel nauseous. I didn't realize this was a threat to my safety until I passed out near a doorway and hyperextended my knee and ankle and had terrible pain in the back part of my knee and my foot, both worse than anything i remember feeling, and it was several days before i could put any weight on it, about a week before intense pain stopped and as of almost two weeks since the incident. I would advise against taking it if you need be able to get up and do something because even that could be dangerous.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ltb3105 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to be taken off this med within a week. My feet swelled so much I couldn't get my shoes on and they were very painful. It put my to sleep, however that is not what it was prescribed for. I have nerve pain and it did nothing to relieve it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bill | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been awake for five days and three nights. My PCP prescribed Trazodone and that night I was able to sleep. the next night I went to sleep but woke up after about four hours. I stayed awake for the rest of the night. The next night I took it again and the same thing happened. A friend told me about Valerian Root and Melatonin. That night I started taking it and have been ever since. I've had a full 8 hours sleep and told my PCP about my experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
davey | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took this 2 different times (about a month apart) Both times extremely dry mouth, nasal passages, and lips....mouth was so dry it felt like i had cotton balls stuffed in it. even had a hard time swallowing. was up most of the night drinking water, then getting up to go to the bathroom. both hands and fingers also became so numb, i had to keep rubbing them to 'wake' them up. This drug scares me and i will never try it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2020
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had terrible eye pain from this medication. It seriously felt like someone was squeezing my eyeballs. Very painful, would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CherieK | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/30/2020
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication when prescribed the CORRECT BRAND works great for me (for 5 years). The APOTE brand of this drug however, is JUNK and doesn't work at ALL! I stick with the Teva brand works best for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hives and more Hives | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for eight days. Today is my last day. Day one was ok (I take it at night), day two at 1am I woke up vomiting. It was like clear water which was weird, so I had brushed it off as a weird effect and decided to try a second day. Day two was ok, felt like I stayed asleep but still had problems getting to sleep. Day three also ok, felt like I stayed asleep but still had problems getting to sleep. Day four I had a nosebleed. I'm used to having them in the past so I took note of it and carried on. Day five, six, and seven, I was slightly nauseated, had another nosebleed. Day 8 (Monday night) was ok however had a hive or two that I thought were mosquito bites. Today/Tuesday I found more hives. I would check fifteen minutes later, and there were more. Checked the side effects of trazodone and saw hives was one that said to talk to the doctor asap. Called my doctor, she said stop the trazodone and take benadryl and if I have problems breathing get to the emergency room. I won't ever take this again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More