Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

99 People found this comment helpful

I take my dose and wait 20 min. or so until I feel it coming on, then it puts me to sleep very well and quickly. I feel taking it and going right to bed is not as effective as waiting till you feel results, regaurdless of what my doctor says. Don't wait too long to go to bed though, when you feel a little light headed, lay down immediatly. If you wait too long it feels like it is not as effecti...

Most voted negative review

34 People found this comment helpful

This medicine almost killed me yesterday

Shared reviews and ratings

JennyMaize | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been dealing with insomnia for years in perimenopause. I am fit, BMI <22, healthy diet (low processed carbs, low sodium, nothing processed, drink only water. Took 50 MG, which made me feel awful and dehydrated me to the point of swollen ankles with no change in fluid uptake, so I drank more and reduced the dose. Took 25 MG for over a year… slept well but… developed kidney stones. No risk factor. Stopped cold turkey. I stopped taking Trazodone after getting another UTI, which may have actually been me passing a kidney stone. I was only taking 1/2 tablet a night… 25 mg. People take 300+ mg for depression. Seriously, within 2 days, I felt more alert and clear-headed… generally in a better mood. I sleep like crap but dang! Never again. I had no idea it was make me feel so blasé. I had chalked it up to menopause and COVID/ working from home, etc. I felt like creating art yesterday (did my best to draw something), wanted to go for a walk. How can this be considered an antidepressant?!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works really well, helps me get a good night sleep and helped tremendously with my anxiety. Only noticeable side effect is lack of appetite which isn’t a big deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaber | 45-54 | Male | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to sleep one hour or two hour every day since I start to used this medication I stop sleeping at all The second day I was crying make all me body week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DONOTTAKE | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for years worked at first but had chronic muscle pain then it stopped working weened myself off 300 mg after Dr increased it then decided to go back up because I couldn't sleep,woke up with eyes looking like golf balls (swollen REAL bad)and had a bad alleregic reaction it always did make my throat sore/nose stuffy I assume it was because it was swollen(allergic reaction) I have 3 joint replacements so I associated my pain with that but after not taking it for only 2 days pain went considerably down and energy levels came back up which I didn't even realize this crap med had anything to do with it until I stopped after reading side effects almost feels like I've been reborn with energy.I DO NOT RECOMMEND.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was given to me due to insomnia and I gotta say is the worse medication first couple nights worked then after that wouldn’t. It was hit or miss with this medication. The side effects cause worse inmsonia, racing thoughts, panic attacks that occurred the longer I took them, night sweats, blurred vision, dizziness increased in anxiety once the medication would wear off, headaches and dry mouth and eyes. One of the things that I notice suicidal thoughts that came out of nowhere. Something that i don’t think think about at all. I do not recommend this for people with inmsonia Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ME | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible terrible dreams. I was given 100mg for sleep and cut it in half so 50mgs. I slept and felt ok but only slept for 41/2 hours so I took another 50 mgs so 100 in total. The dreams after the 2nd dosage was so terrible and vivid which only carried on after I woke. I felt so groggy and depressed that I will not be taking this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trazadone | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When a drug like Trazadone is prescribed its really for depression and its does knock you out for sleeping disorders. But the side effects for me where terrible I had long sleeping secession 10 to 12 hours of being out. It also started restless legs and body triggers. Sweating in the morning so bad I had to wear a tee shirt and take it off due to my sheets would be soaked. It caused more depression in the am to the point I was on the couch just watching more depressing TV. I had the most vivid dreams and not all good ones dreaming to the point of exhaustion. They where very lucid and some very disturbing some were so real like traveling to other countries very bizarre. Very tied and druggy feeling in afternoon. So if you have major depression it might work or send you into more depression. I still suffer from manor insomnia I went back to Zolpoline its still not the answer but less issues. It's the USA our ridiculous stress and over sensitizes electronics, overloaded way of life. Simple things like walks communication with people and hobbies would help me better. Corona did a number on the population of the world this will be studied for decades to come. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trazodone works great putting me to sleep at night. I take it when I go to bed and , I am normally sound asleep within 30 minutes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ROB60433 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for sleep. Horrible stuff. Took a long time to take effect. Unpleasant dreams. Groggy the next day. Not recommended.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peace | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally started this medication because I had trouble sleeping. Since taking it, I feel more rested. I simply feel better. My mood is better. Now that I'm learning it also treats depression, I think I may suffer from depression because I feel so much better since taking Trazadone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lethargy888 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed trazadone 50mg for chronic sleep issues. While it did knock me out like a light at bed time, I eventually started to become extremely depressed and very very suicidle. I would spend hours a night for about 2 months, on every possible way a person could commit suicide, and in great detail. Eventually, it landed me in a mental hospital. Very bad for me. Anti depressants seem to cause depression for me to the point of REALLY considering suicide. Been off it for nearly a month now, and feel more like myself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori W. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works really good on me for sleep, also take generic Prozac, glad the doctor prescribed it to me, to me I really recommend it..i only take 1- 50mg pill , and works really good !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kasey | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this due to acute insomnia following some troubling events in my life. As far as sleep goes, it worked like a charm. I would get a good 7-8 hours each night. After taking it nightly (100mg) for 5 weeks, I began to notice lower back pain, and right side hip pain which would radiate upward into my abdomen, reaching the bottom of my rib cage. I let it go for about a week and the pain never got better. Stumped by this, I decided to Google the side effects of this medication which led me to several reports of bone, joint and muscle pain. This is the only prescription medicine I take. I decided to immediately stop, and within a couple days the pain was virtually gone. It has now been six nights without taking it and I am back to being completely pain-free. I am also back to sleeping fine without the need for this. I wanted to write this to help out others if they have the same pain issues as me. The comments on this site are what led me to decide to stop taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLG | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This poison is toxic with awful side effects. It doesn’t help me sleep. I am also bipolar. I can’t safely drive a car after taking this toxic pill. Side effects are night sweats, brain fog and loss of memory, shakiness/tremors and chills all the time, agitation and restlessness and tinnitus, motor skills off, hard to walk or just function. Seeing my psychiatrist today and after a good try for 8 weeks, I’m done. Never ever had such debilitating side effects and I’ve been on a handful over 23 years. Do NOT take this unless you want to lay in the fetal position in agony. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 150 mg for 8 years for insomnia I was cut off cold Turkey when my new pcp asked me if it was working.I told him it has become ineffective. For 9 months I cant go to sleep untl 3am ,wake up at 6am like clock work with a mild headache and nervous. The only thing that helps is to get out of bed and drink coffee. When I am sleeping I have constant vidid dreams .I feel like I'm awake during the 3 hours I am sleeping .My new pcp told me I have anti depressant discontinuation syndrome, it can last up to a year since I took it so long.My life has been hell for 9 months. My memory is shot.This drug is poison, buyer beware of the consequences when you stop taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teri | 55-64 | Transgender | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ended up having almost every side effect and didn't realize it until now years later when I am not on it and nolonger seeing the Dr who prescribed it. Only now without having to take anything with a clear head am I able to see that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Megan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
4/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve used this medication for over 20 yrs, and it is the only one that has worked for me for my depression and helps me sleep at night. I take 300 mg every night and sleep wonderfully. Be sure to lay down right after taking it because it kicks in quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Irene | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst sleep med ever.Took only one pill spent whole night trying to figure out how to stay alive.Literally.Gave me high blood pressure, shivers, swallen neck and numbness in arms.Horrible side effects forget about sleeping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coopers mom | 35-44 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: insomnia associated with depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PTSD, severe anxiety and some depression. I take it before I sleep. Wait 15 or so min then I lay down..I fall asleep for a bit then I wake up through the night to the point of getting up outta bed. I go to sleep when I lay back down but then it's causing me to sleep through my alarm. Today I didn't wake up til 12.45pm and I was suppose to be at work at 8 luckily I work for myself so I can't reschedule.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
irene | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

as one of reviewers mentioned, it also almost killed me one day few months ago.Never again,please stay away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More