Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

I suffer from Diabetic Neuropathy and the horrible burning, stinging and itching in my feet from early evening and all night. At times it was so bad I would cry. I used ice and cold packs for temporary relief but nothing really worked. Then 3 days ago I tried Zostrix cream. I used the one for arthritis as opposed to the one for diabetics, as all of the ingredients were the same and the pharmac...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

burns

Shared reviews and ratings

Averil Thorpe | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used because of both my athritic knees and my siatica. Found it very good. Used to walk bent over now am almost walking straight again. So pleased I found out about Zostrix. It's been my life saver.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with red scrotum syndrome or scrotal dysesthesia yesterday and the dermatologist recommend I use capsaicin cream as a way to help with the nerve pain. I put it on and it was the worst pain I have ever been through in my entire life. This is coming from someone who has had multiple arm surgeries and an elbow reconstruction surgery so I have had my fair share of painful experiences. I urge you even if it’s recommended by your dermatologist or doctor please don’t put this anywhere near your genitals or else your scrotum will fell like it’s being dipped in battery acid.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to persevere but the stinging sensation does goes the more you use it. Just a little at a time but often is the secret.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
genie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2018
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

osteoarthritis in my hands so issues with touching my face/pets even wiping myself! Generally mild irritation in the daytime but at night my hands burn like hell unless I find cool spots for them, so I'm waking hourly to cool them down. I won't be able to persist for the full time of treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/7/2017
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It burns like hell and I was up half the night with cold wash clothes on my hands.i couldn't even put my contact lenses in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paal | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2017
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using it was like burning my feet. Unbearable pain. Had to put my feet in cold water to try to stop the burning. Never again this cream.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
openminded | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2017
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the first time I had a severe allergic reaction with watering eyes, runny nose (bad cold symptoms). I tried once again and the same thing happened. Cannot use it., Talked to the company who promised a refund. Did not get the refund.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2016
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have shingles and it's like putting liquid fire on your skin. Never again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2015
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very good medicine.ilike.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sharon | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had injured the bursa over my left hip and it affected the nervemusle/tendon down my leg. Had therapy which was wonderful. After a while the pain would return...I tried the Zostrix and applied with a glove and a pad to rub in. I had immediate relief...Used for about 2 weeks and no pain. Now I use it when I feel the pain starting...I wash my hands even though I use the glove..wash the gloves as well. never any problem with burning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
usmcnana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2014
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nerve pain in my upper right leg from unknown causes. There are no outward signs that anything is going on with my leg. No redness, rash, nothing... leg "looks" fine! The pain alternates between burning, stabbing, electric-shock-like pain and I have tried everything and nothing helped. It is not shingles as it has no outward sign of anything amiss. A pharmacist suggested I try Zostrix and suggested I try it in a stick form, like a tube of lipstick. I don't have to touch it with my hands so no having to be careful of touching face, lips, etc. AND IT WORKS! It has stopped the pain so far. I've tried it for two days and so far, so good! The burning from the gel stick is nothing compared to the burning I already have so I'm not discouraged by the burning from the Zostrix. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hardatitbmq2ho | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/30/2013
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ankle knee pain used cream almost gone when applied 1st time use

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
8/27/2013
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

burns

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sisters1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/1/2013
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic pain of TMJ. My jaw is also full of arthritis. I can't take anti-flammatory drugs because I have a kidney disease. This started over 40 years ago. Zostrix provides me with relief that nothing else can. I use a q-tip to put it on, do not get it in your eyes! Wash hands thoroughly afterward. It will burn at first, keep using, the burning will lessen as you use it and it will help the pain the longer you use it. 2 - 3 times per day recommended. My pain is 24x7 so this is a God-send for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
inday | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2013
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i developed red painful welts on my neck and back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AngelStar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/12/2013
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had major neuropathy in my hands after neck surgeey. This was in 1994 and the neurosurgeon could only tell me to use hand lotion. The pain was severe and some how, some way I picked up the Zostrix and I am still using my hands today. The only problem I had on using the cream was touching mucous membranes, actually, I was careful of even touching pets because it can really burn. I counld't wash it off my hands and if you do use it make certain you wash your hands well. I will trying it on my feet soon, when my husband brings it in. I'm not sure how but I do have plantar facitis, maybe. That is my best guess. Went to the medical doctor who told me it was my knees. The pain is stemming from the bottom of my feet, not my knees. The quack gave me some medication and I was naseous and vomiting the whole time. I'll try Zostrix for this condition, it beats faux medicine. I'll be back in a monh or so to report on my feet. My hands would appreciate a little treatment too. Pura Vida Oh yeah, we can't get this product in Central America, what gives? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/7/2013
Condition: Nerve Pain after Herpes
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought it for diabetic foot pain. I also have postherpetic pain in chest and shoulder areas and may try it for that. Just bought it today.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
truebluebytwo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2012
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Diabetic Foot Neuropathy & used disposable gloves to apply to my feet at night in bed. I have tried to use both strenght zostric creams. So have reviewed both. The 0.025% Cream: Allows me to get SOME sleep now - but everything lightly burns the next day. It seems to come out as light burning in my face, back, arms (Sweat Glands). Which isn't a real big problem unless I rub my eyes (it does stop nose picking altogether). I cannot handle pets or touch their food the next day or two, so it can make longterm use restrictive - you have to make a choice of having less pain in feet or greatly curbing your life. But hey, the pain is so bad at times I'm more than willing to make the sacrifice. 0.075% I find that I cannot use the stronger strength cream as it makes me and some members of the family go into vicious coughing fits. with the stronger version I could not bath the next day as the burning in my feet is just too severe on contact with the water! It also seemed to affect all my pores & comes out as a cool burning sensation. I had put socks on as I have to due to cold feet and found that the residue cream in the socks a couple of days later made the coughing fit just as bad as the initial use and I had to throw the socks, rather than risk another coughing bout. But until something better comes along I'll have to make the sacrifice sometimes just to get some let-up from the agonizing pain of this horrible, horrible condition. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2012
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put it on my feet at 11:30 PM Monday night its now Tuesday 5:53 PM and my feet are still burning up from it. I call the toll free number but never got an answer on any of the buttons just sent back to the menu everytime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lindacruiser | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/25/2011
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I followed the directions. First nothing happended, then after the 4th time of using it I experienced burning and itching. Later that evening I got into my shower,and was surprised that I was experiencing severe itching and burning. I quickly tried to wash it off. The horrible burning and itching lasted about 10 hours. This product did nothing for me, except upset me and cause me much pain. I would not recommend it for any use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More