Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

66 People found this comment helpful

AT FIRST I FELT LIKE I HAD MORE ENERGY.  NOW I AM TIRED ALL THE TIME AND I HAVE GAINED WEIGHT  AND FEEL DEPRESSED., BUT MY BLOOD PRESSURE IS GOOD.  I WOULD LIKE TO QUIT THE MED

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I hate it. I think it makes me gain weight. I wish my dr would focus on my weight but apparently he don't think its an issue, just as he don't think my mental health is an issue. Or maybe he just dont think that's his problem as we all have a PCP now , and he can pawn us off to another and not think about it.

Shared reviews and ratings

Annlynn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been very dizzy,nauseous on this medication. My feet are stillness swollen. Got blood work and it came back abnormal. This is the only medication I take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have severe side effects from this med. Can barely walk,very dizzy and feet are swollen. Dr says I'm ok but this is the only thing I take and it started afterwards. I'm in my middle 70's and feel like 100. I used too be active.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunny | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weight gain of 30 lbs in last 3 months mostly in waist area. Tinnitus is worse. No energy. Depression is bad. BP still high mostly at 160 /95 . Just don't feel good since December. Even my teeth hurt. Doc said everything was okay. I don't think they listen at all. I want off this med. At 72 I think I know my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Howard | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/31/2022
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medication for several years. It has kept my heart rhythm steady and out of A-Fib.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leticia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/17/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has increased my weight by 75 pounds I have an allergic reaction to it with whelping and swelling and itching. Thinning of hair and diarrhea. Shortness of breath which I’m sure is due to the extra weight. Will be consulting with Dr. to take me off of this medication this week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
serlinda | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have irregular heartbeat been on metoprolol tartrate 25 mg 2x daily for 7 years … it helps me so much but at the beginning of starting medication I did experience side effects which were fast heartbeat/chest pain, dizziness, drowsiness and weird dreams. Overall it has helped me a lot to lower my heart rate and chest pains,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
welluntilnow | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never been on a long term med before. I felt overall ill on this with crying jags and exhaustion. Had to hold on to the walls to walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WorldTraveler | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2021
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A one-time ER visit a year ago with diagnosed Atrial fibrillation; no history of high blood pressure, just an occasional flutter that usually stops after a few deep breaths. In fact, I had been quite active as a cycler, hiker, traveler. Then this one incident resulted in ER person (never have met the cardiologist!) prescribing Metoprolol Tartrate, 25mg morning and night (50mg/day). Immediately had reaction including dizzyness, lethargy, despair, and a concern about treatment without knowing my health history. All tests were "normal". I have reduced to 12.5mg once at night and have had no issues. BUT, I'm planning to get a second opinion because ALL tests are "normal" and even this small dosage has affected my energy level, weight (increase), and confidence. The treatment choice makes no sense.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/16/2021
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic fatigue, chronic lack of energy, personal care and hygiene is suffering, along with household cleaning and chores, bills are behind, severe migraines, chronic pain, constantly cold, blurred vision, weight gain,, I'm not myself at all. I used to be very bubbly, outgoing, the life of the party, was always known for being able to just walk in the door and light up the entire room with my smile, my laugh, my radiance. Sure can't do that anymore because I'm all doom and gloom nowadays. I used to always be a busy body. Now I can't be blasted out of the house. I used to always do my makeup, lipstick or lip gloss and hair and get dressed up nice in a matching outfit or a dress or even just a cute pair of blue jeans with a cute little shirt and a matching pair of seasonal shoes. But, that's all long gone to the waaay side for me too. I don't take pride in anything anymore at all. And I always used to take pride in myself, my vehicle, my inside and outside of my home. I'm deeply depressed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeff | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started having eye problems almost immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alive | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading the most helpful rated experiences people reported and how other people approved those reviews/experiences there are 2 common themes. Depression and Doctors who won't listen. I'm on 200mg a day and have been for over 9 years. One doctor told me flat out, "your alternative is death". In regards to stopping. "Disease" puts us in these positions, not the meds and if you are like me or close then you have more meds than just this? But "Death" is my alternative as my Doc said, so perspective gives me a different outlook when put that way? I just completed a 2 mile hike over very rugged turf, Pickle Springs Conservation Area in Missouri. I carried a camera and lens, water the whole way. I have survived 10 heart attacks, mini-strokes, a cabbage the Docs call them, since 2005 and had over 11 stents placed. I got better...lot's of verticals to climb btw.. This is important to know. I can do things at 65+ I couldn't do 5 years ago or even 15 years ago without experiencing serious repercussions. Today I can pace myself, I have better stamina and endurance and I don't work out at all, just walk when I can. There's no way anyone can convince me that it hasn't provided me a better quality of life - I am living proof. The med doesn't allow your heart rate to increase rapidly or stay increased, learning to understand what it does to you is a key to adapting with it. Like my doc said.... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2020
Condition: Heart Rate Between 100 and 130 Beats Per Minute
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I bump my arms, I bruise and sometimes bleed. I makes huge places on my arms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom8pie | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 50mg twice a day for high blood pressure. It works very well for me. My blood pressure is now around 130/76... which is better than before. Overall, I am very satisfied with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 50mg 2x daily with 20mg Lisinopril for Angina and Fast heart beat. Resting bp 147 / 75. Heart beat ran LOW 50-56. I felt sleepless, anxious at times, shortness of breath, blurred vision and constant diarrhea. Been on it for 10 days. Will wait longer to see if side effects continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/28/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feel great with this drug.. BP best ever and no more pulsating in my head and helps with anxiety that raised BP

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eaw | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2019
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this medication in May, was prescribed for AHR due to Mast cell disorder. Already on BP med Calan 180mg SR, and when adding Metoprolol 25mg in mornings, I started to notice extreme fatigue, shortness of breath, weakness, lack of energy, lack of motivation, falling asleep midday, after one month of being on it my hair started to fall out by the handful each time I washed or combed, found a lot on my pillow every morning too! Weight gain of 20 pounds since May. Short term memory issues/brain fog. I was advised to cut the dose to 12mg for 3 days to go off this med. Today was the day... hopefully I can get back to my normal self even if I do have AHR. I stopped drinking coffee with this med. as well as limiting salt, and anything with caffeine. I will maintain this routine and hope it is useful after being off this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
metoprol tar 25 mg | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my blood pressure has went down to about 124/70 rate goes up and down from 95 to 52.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes shortness of breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate it. I think it makes me gain weight. I wish my dr would focus on my weight but apparently he don't think its an issue, just as he don't think my mental health is an issue. Or maybe he just dont think that's his problem as we all have a PCP now , and he can pawn us off to another and not think about it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/20/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is awful. Between the staggering, I have diarrhea, total loss of sex drive, muscle weakness and felt terrible. Had to reduce to 50 mgs 2 which helps a lot. Nasty stuff

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More