Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

66 People found this comment helpful

AT FIRST I FELT LIKE I HAD MORE ENERGY.  NOW I AM TIRED ALL THE TIME AND I HAVE GAINED WEIGHT  AND FEEL DEPRESSED., BUT MY BLOOD PRESSURE IS GOOD.  I WOULD LIKE TO QUIT THE MED

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I hate it. I think it makes me gain weight. I wish my dr would focus on my weight but apparently he don't think its an issue, just as he don't think my mental health is an issue. Or maybe he just dont think that's his problem as we all have a PCP now , and he can pawn us off to another and not think about it.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/16/2021
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic fatigue, chronic lack of energy, personal care and hygiene is suffering, along with household cleaning and chores, bills are behind, severe migraines, chronic pain, constantly cold, blurred vision, weight gain,, I'm not myself at all. I used to be very bubbly, outgoing, the life of the party, was always known for being able to just walk in the door and light up the entire room with my smile, my laugh, my radiance. Sure can't do that anymore because I'm all doom and gloom nowadays. I used to always be a busy body. Now I can't be blasted out of the house. I used to always do my makeup, lipstick or lip gloss and hair and get dressed up nice in a matching outfit or a dress or even just a cute pair of blue jeans with a cute little shirt and a matching pair of seasonal shoes. But, that's all long gone to the waaay side for me too. I don't take pride in anything anymore at all. And I always used to take pride in myself, my vehicle, my inside and outside of my home. I'm deeply depressed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeff | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started having eye problems almost immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alive | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading the most helpful rated experiences people reported and how other people approved those reviews/experiences there are 2 common themes. Depression and Doctors who won't listen. I'm on 200mg a day and have been for over 9 years. One doctor told me flat out, "your alternative is death". In regards to stopping. "Disease" puts us in these positions, not the meds and if you are like me or close then you have more meds than just this? But "Death" is my alternative as my Doc said, so perspective gives me a different outlook when put that way? I just completed a 2 mile hike over very rugged turf, Pickle Springs Conservation Area in Missouri. I carried a camera and lens, water the whole way. I have survived 10 heart attacks, mini-strokes, a cabbage the Docs call them, since 2005 and had over 11 stents placed. I got better...lot's of verticals to climb btw.. This is important to know. I can do things at 65+ I couldn't do 5 years ago or even 15 years ago without experiencing serious repercussions. Today I can pace myself, I have better stamina and endurance and I don't work out at all, just walk when I can. There's no way anyone can convince me that it hasn't provided me a better quality of life - I am living proof. The med doesn't allow your heart rate to increase rapidly or stay increased, learning to understand what it does to you is a key to adapting with it. Like my doc said.... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2020
Condition: Heart Rate Between 100 and 130 Beats Per Minute
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I bump my arms, I bruise and sometimes bleed. I makes huge places on my arms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom8pie | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 50mg twice a day for high blood pressure. It works very well for me. My blood pressure is now around 130/76... which is better than before. Overall, I am very satisfied with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 50mg 2x daily with 20mg Lisinopril for Angina and Fast heart beat. Resting bp 147 / 75. Heart beat ran LOW 50-56. I felt sleepless, anxious at times, shortness of breath, blurred vision and constant diarrhea. Been on it for 10 days. Will wait longer to see if side effects continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/28/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feel great with this drug.. BP best ever and no more pulsating in my head and helps with anxiety that raised BP

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eaw | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2019
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this medication in May, was prescribed for AHR due to Mast cell disorder. Already on BP med Calan 180mg SR, and when adding Metoprolol 25mg in mornings, I started to notice extreme fatigue, shortness of breath, weakness, lack of energy, lack of motivation, falling asleep midday, after one month of being on it my hair started to fall out by the handful each time I washed or combed, found a lot on my pillow every morning too! Weight gain of 20 pounds since May. Short term memory issues/brain fog. I was advised to cut the dose to 12mg for 3 days to go off this med. Today was the day... hopefully I can get back to my normal self even if I do have AHR. I stopped drinking coffee with this med. as well as limiting salt, and anything with caffeine. I will maintain this routine and hope it is useful after being off this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
metoprol tar 25 mg | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my blood pressure has went down to about 124/70 rate goes up and down from 95 to 52.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes shortness of breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate it. I think it makes me gain weight. I wish my dr would focus on my weight but apparently he don't think its an issue, just as he don't think my mental health is an issue. Or maybe he just dont think that's his problem as we all have a PCP now , and he can pawn us off to another and not think about it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/20/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is awful. Between the staggering, I have diarrhea, total loss of sex drive, muscle weakness and felt terrible. Had to reduce to 50 mgs 2 which helps a lot. Nasty stuff

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/21/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great. 50mg twice a day. Does exactly what it is supposed to do, zero side effects and cheap cheap cheap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elpidio | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/29/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 25 mg/day sometimes one more at night if I have to. It lowers my blood pressure but lowers my heart rate too below 60 and I experience chest pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms K | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/21/2018
Condition: Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a heart attack in 200 and was put on 25mg. I take half in the morning and half in the evening. My BP still high at times, the only thing I have had trouble with is that it has completely killed my sex life. Have gained about 50 pounds since 2010. Horrible experience with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crissy | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was taking 50mg metaphol tartate for 3 days then reduced to 25 on my own call. Bad side affect on 50mg. Arms n hands went numb and dizziness couldn't sleep at all at night so cut the pill in half and got good result. Take it at 5pm every evening too just in case I get too dizzy to drive car but I have not gotten bad side affects and my bp has been good. Then I was put on 25mg ace inhibitors also! Hope my kidneys hold up...getting bloodwork soon to see. No bad side affects on both yet except a little dizziness which went away in a few days...we shall see what happens as I have only been on this for 2weeks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/4/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Metoprolol is effective for my blood pressure and PVC’s and AFIB. However, I experience awful side effects from this drug being it is a beta blocker. Though this drug is effective it causes me to suffer from heartburn, burning diarrhea half of the time or more so. I had intermittent bizarre scary dreams (nightmares) on some occasions from metoprolol. In addition, this drug definitely brings on insomnia. What I find most intolerable are the heartburn, indigestion, and inflammatory diarrhea brought on from metoprolol. The drug is truly wrecking my entire GI system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HighBpSuffer | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused so many problems. ED, dizziness, tired, could not function (zombified). Had to get cardiologist to prescribe something different. Worst drug I have ever been on. BTW - My high bp did not change from day to day end of being on this drug. Just my experience - make your own decision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lmg | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/22/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Metoprolol not quite 2 years ago, after a heart attack and high bp diagnosis. I hate it, but cannot get my doctor to change it. The longer I take it, the worse I feel. I get short of breath and leg fatigue with just minimal walking. I have a dry cough, have wheezing, and started getting leg edema too. Additionally, I have gained about 40 lbs. I am afraid to stop the medicine on my own, but I had NONE of these symptoms before. My heart attack was caught early, and my EKG does not show it even. I was on Lisinopril too, but had to stop that on my own because I developed an ACE cough that was nearly debilitating due to frequency and intensity. I take 25mg of Metoprolol twice a day. My bp is controlled, but my pulse stays low, between 48-56. Sometimes I feel like my heart slows down and feel like I am going to pass out. I don't get chest pain. My shortness of breath is not all the time, and it's not to where I pant or gasp. It's like I just can't get a good deep full breath. I believe I felt about 100% better before taking this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/24/2017
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am cold all the timeeojjgr

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More